Just taking it all in….

The past few days have been all about getting settled, getting to know my surroundings and wrapping my head around the fact that I am here. Every time I go out, I laugh to myself because I’m sure the locals only see a tourist. However, I sure as heck don’t feel like a tourist. I love getting on a yellow reggae bus and being the only white person on it. And I don’t mean that in any sort of derogatory way. Based on conversations with locals, they are impressed when “white folk” use local transit.

The biggest thing so far, and it’s something I never even thought of before leaving Ottawa: the cockroaches. I was visited by one my first night here and it was honestly the biggest bug I have ever seen in my life. It was easily the size of half the palm of my hand. And all night long I could hear it, smacking itself into the wall. I shudder just thinking about it. Today we were visited by an exterminator who sprayed all the units and he gave me some tips on storing my food. Tomorrow I am going shopping for plastic containers to put all my dry food into. I don’t want another cockroach to waltz in here.

My days so far have been all about relaxing and soaking it in. My two favourite places to relax are the rooftop terrace here at wKd Beach Lofts:

IMG_4883

And the awesome beach across the street:

IMG_4924

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

