Recipe: Bajan Fish Chowder

Let me start off by saying that I had not all planned to have Fish Chowder for dinner tonight. The original plan was scalloped potatoes, grilled flying fish and salad. So the first part of this recipe is how I prepared the scalloped potatoes.

Ingredients:

  • Potatoes (I used 2, cuz this was just for me)
  • 1 small onion
  • milk (I don’t know enough to cover the bottom of my pan about 1/2″ up the side)
  • cheese, grated (except again I’m lazy, so I just cut it into small cubes)
  • approximately 1 tbsp butter
  • splash of sunflower oil so the butter didn’t burn
  • Bajan sweet basil leaves
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Wash potatoes thoroughly, put in a pot and cover with water (I didn’t peel my potatoes because I’m lazy that way and I love potato peel). Bring to a boil and allow to cook for about 10 minutes, or until just slightly tender
  2. Drain potatoes and allow to cool so you can handle them
  3. Heat butter and oil in a small saute pan
  4. Finely chop onion and sweet basil. Set sweet basil aside
  5. Add onion to hot oil/butter mixture and allow to soften (5 minutes or so)
  6. While onion is cooking, slice your potatoes
  7. Generously rub butter all over the inside of your casserole dish. Layer sliced potatoes in dish, sprinkling each layer with salt, pepper and a bit of the sweet basil.
  8. Check your onions. Once they have softened, pour milk into the pan and allow it to warm up.
  9. Once milk is warmed, toss in your cheese and allow it to melt (I know…there’s normally flour here too, but I don’t have any).
  10. Once the cheese has melted, taste and add salt, pepper, sweet basil, and hot pepper sauce (optional).
  11. Pour the sauce over your layered potatoes.

It should look something like this:

Scalloped Potatoes - yummy!

Scalloped Potatoes – yummy!

At this point, if you’re me, you’ll realize that your casserole, while cute and little, still isn’t little enough to fit in the toaster oven you have in your kitchen instead of an oven. So, it all got dumped back into the saute pan.  I went out and grilled my fish as planned, however, my potatoes were swimming in liquid. And since I didn’t want to waste all that yummy juice, I did what any good chef would do. I improvised. I dumped the grilled flying fish into the pot with the potatoes, added a bit of water, some hot pepper sauce and a bit more salt. I put the lid on and allowed it to simmer for a couple of minutes.

Et voila! The end result: Bajan Fish Chowder. Not the prettiest thing, but considering it’s not what I had planned on making, it turned out darn tasty!

Bajan Fish Chowder - also  yummy!

Bajan Fish Chowder – also yummy!

This entry was posted in Culinary Experiences, recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

