Attitude really is everything

Lovely bougainvillea on the patio

Lovely bougainvillea on the patio

I debated not posting anything today as I found the day really challenging. I struggled to get up this morning, felt on the verge of a migraine all day. I rarely get migraines here, but when I do, even the starting phases are doozies. I have no idea why that is, unless it’s more me being annoyed because I end up losing time in such a beautiful place. Anyway, I ended up kicking it to the curb with 2 extra strength Advil, a pack of ice and a 2.5 hour nap. When I woke up at 2:15pm, I decided that migraine or not, I needed to get outside. So outside I went.

Here I must tell you that the weather was grey and drizzly most of the day. Of course, when I woke up from my nap the sun was shining. But by the time I got to the beach across the street it was raining. But I didn’t let that stop me. I had a destination: the veggie stall just down the street. As I walked along the beach, there were four people, visitors, obviously having a party. They had a little grill set up, chairs and they were all heading into the water with their glasses of wine and beer. One of the men saw me, looked up at the sky and asked me, “Do you think we’ll get very much rain?” I laughed and told him it probably didn’t matter too much as they all looked plenty wet already. He said I was probably right and continued into the water.

These same four people were still there when I came back from the veggie stand (with my pepper, onions and garlic…oh and my small bottles of rum and coke from the John Moore bar). The man I originally spoke toasted me from the water and his wife, who was fetching a new bottle of wine, said to me, “Don’t mind us. We are celebrating our daughter’s retirement.” I raised my bags to the folks in the water, shouted congratulations and told the mom that I didn’t think there was a more perfect spot to be celebrating such an event.

By the time I got home, my migraine was completely gone, I had a smile on my face and I was so glad I got to witness that event.  I then spent some time taking pictures of the resident kitties:

The Triplets of Belleville...well, the Three Kitties of WkD Lofts

The Triplets of Belleville…well, the Three Kitties of WkD Lofts

And making a really delicious dinner. I decided to hold off on the macaroni pie today – I really didn’t want anything that heavy. Instead, I ended up with grilled peppers and onions, steak and rice. It sure did hit the spot!

Mmm...this was the perfect dinner for today

Mmm…this was the perfect dinner for today

This entry was posted in day-to-day life, special moments and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

