Recipe: Green Papaya Salad (Bajan Style)

Earlier this afternoon I was given two, rather large, green papayas. I figured since I already have one ripening under a towel, I had better figure out what to do with green papaya. I know that there is a Thai salad that uses green papaya, but since I was missing a lot of ingredients (specifically for the dressing), I decided to wing it.  So without further ado, here’s my Bajan take on a Green Papaya Salad

First, get one of these bad boys right here:

Green Papaya (on a plate with a green mango and a slightly riper papaya)

Green Papaya (on a plate with a green mango and a slightly riper papaya)

Since I didn’t want to make a HUGE salad, I cut off a chunk of the papaya:

Prepping the papaya

Prepping the papaya

I de-seeded the chunk I was using and then set to work peeling it. Do this very carefully. I almost cut myself several times. Once you’ve peeled your papaya, grate it. I used a regular grater and carefully shredded the papaya. I was impressed that no fingertips ended up in the salad.

Shredded green papaya

Shredded green papaya

I then thinly sliced a green mango and added it to the bowl with the papaya:

Slices of mango

Slices of mango

At this point, I was going to put some shredded carrots in, but they had gone slimy. So instead I added some sliced tomato and some chopped chives.

The dressing is simple, but it works. I had a bottle of low fat vinaigrette and some Bajan hot pepper sauce in my fridge. Mixed a little bit of each together and a dressing is born!

Dressing!

Dressing!

Everything got put in a bowl, given a quick toss and there you have it. My Green Papaya Salad.

My take on the Green Papaya Salad

My take on the Green Papaya Salad

This entry was posted in Culinary Experiences, recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

