Recipe: Roasted Garlic Mashed Breadfruit

Wow…no post yesterday. So I should probably post something today. My weekend really has been low-key and wonderful.  Last night I invited Shawn over for dinner. I pulled some of the tuna out of the freezer and lightly marinated it in a mixture of lemon juice, garlic, sunflower oil, salt, pepper, and parsley. I then decided to play with the rest of the breadfruit I had in my fridge and make roasted garlic mashed breadfruit. I didn’t think it was my best effort, (definitely a good starting point for further experimentation) however, Shawn seemed impressed and actually had seconds (and he told me that he only eats breadfruit roasted or fried like chips). So, I guess they weren’t horrible. Anyway, here’s what I did. But before I post my “recipe”, I’d like to introduce you to my new oven. It’s a larger, convection-style toaster oven. Sweet!

Ooh! Aah! My shiny new oven.

Ooh! Aah! My shiny new oven.

Garlic Roasted Mashed Breadfruit

Ingredients:

  • Breadfruit
  • Garlic
  • Butter
  • Milk
  • Salt and pepper

Directions:

1. Rub garlic and breadfruit with oil and place on preheated grill.

Slowly cooking on the grill

Slowly cooking on the grill

2. After 30 minutes of that crap, remove the garlic (which is perfectly done) from the heat, wrap the breadfruit in tinfoil and toss that bad boy in the shiny oven that I got to snag from the apartment next to me. Roast the breadfruit slowly at about 300 F for 45 minutes or so.

3. Take the breadfruit out of the oven, let it cool a bit and then try to peel it. Apparently I did this wrong. I’m surprised I have fingerprints left as I couldn’t feel my fingertips by the time I was done. Toss the chunks of peeled breadfruit into a bowl to mash.

4. If you don’t have a potato masher (I don’t), get right in there with your hands. Remember that at this point I can’t feel my fingers anyway, so I mash up the breadfruit with my hands, add in the roasted garlic, some butter, a splash of milk, and salt and pepper to taste. Mush it all together with your hands.

You could serve it at this point, but I still needed to grill my lemon parsley tuna and veggies, so I put the hand-mashed breadfruit into a greased baking dish and put it in my shiny new oven to keep warm.

Hand-mashed Breadfruit

Hand-mashed Breadfruit

The grilled tuna and veggies were definitely my favourite parts of the meal. But Shawn enjoyed the breadfruit. He has promised me that he will show me a better way of peeling and pre-cooking breadfruit so I can do different things with it.

This entry was posted in Culinary Experiences, recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

