Baking in Barbados: Pizza Crust and Flat Breads

Yesterday and today have seen me get a bit more adventurous in my tiny kitchen. It all started because I was chatting with my friend in Montreal about pizza. And then I realized I hadn’t had pizza in over 2 months. And oh boy, would a piece of pizza ever taste good. Now of course, I can get pizza in restaurants here. But it’s never as good as a piece of homemade, from scratch, made it myself pizza. I could have bought a small bag of pizza crust mix that would have given me one 12″ crust. But I thought, why have one, when I can have many?

So, I went out and bought baking ingredients. That’s right, I am baking in Barbados. My kitchen now has flour, sugar, salt and baking powder. I decided to search out yeast-free recipes in an effort to keep things simple and versatile. I also got some dried Italian herbs and some Parmesan cheese to put in my crust/flat breads.

For my pizza crust, I used this Beer Pizza Crust recipe.  I cut the recipe in half  and to get my 6 oz of liquid, I used 3oz of Banks beer and 3 oz of water. I added my Parmesan cheese and my Italian herbs into the dry stuff before I added the liquid. I also let the dough ball sit for 20 minutes or so (while I showered) before I pressed it into my pan and topped it.

This was the end result:

Pizza topped with ground beef, green peppers, onions, and cheddar. Mmmm!

Pizza topped with ground beef, green peppers, onions, and cheddar. Mmmm!

Tonight for dinner I decided I wanted a taco salad of sorts. Except I didn’t have tortillas. Oh wait! I have baking ingredients. I’ll make my own flat breads. The recipe I used was Easy, Homemade, Vegan and Yeast-free flat breads.  Of course, I modified things a bit so my flat breads were not vegan. Again I halved the recipe and I used 1/4 cup water and 1/8 cup evaporated milk. I also added Parmesan and Italian herbs. Instead of cooking these on the “stove”, I decided to grill these on the BBQ. So I chopped up some garlic and added it to a small bowl of sunflower oil. I brushed the garlic oil on my flat breads before putting them on my pre-heated BBQ grill pan. I grilled them for 3-4 minutes on each side. And holy cow were they good! I have 2 left for tomorrow.

What have you found yourself making from scratch simply because you knew it would taste better than anything you could get in the store?

This entry was posted in Culinary Experiences, recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

