Cricket and New Culinary Experiences: Guineps

 

On Friday I hopped on the bus and made my way to Speightstown to check out a different grocery store. A few people had told me that Jordans had better prices than Massey, and on their website, Jordans says that they will help stretch my grocery dollar. Unfortunately, I was quite underwhelmed. Half the things on my list, they either didn’t have or they were more expensive than Massey. I did manage to get the one specific thing I was looking for (powdered milk) and I got some more bouillon cubes (they were cheaper and had more varieties).  Oh, and my rum was $0.20 cheaper too.

As I was leaving the store, I got talking to a man who was selling what he called “ackees.” Now, there are Jamaican ackees (which are actually ackees) and Bajan ackees (which are actually guineps).  Anyway, I bought a bag. There’s not much to these things, but they are tasty. They look like a bunch of green grapes.

Bajan Ackee (or guineps)

Bajan Ackee (or guineps)

When you bite into them, that thin green skin pops with a rather satisfying sound and you are then looking at a peachy pink flesh. Some people say it reminds them of an eyeball. If you are a fan of lychee or rambutans, then you will love these, as the texture is very similar (in fact, all three fruit are related).

A guinep that has been bitten open.

A guinep that has been bitten open.

Once you have bitten off the first half of skin, you then suck the orange bit into your mouth and suck the flesh off the seed. Be warned though, this fruit is mostly seed. The flavour of this can range from really sweet to really sour. The bag I got seems to be nicely in the middle. A bit sweet, but still a bit tart. Which makes them really refreshing to suck on.

I also allowed myself to get sucked into the final matches of the Hero CPL tournament. Saturday night was the final elimination match between the Guyana Amazon Warriors and the Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel. Since the Barbados Tridents had already advanced to the final (by virtue of winning the group play standings), this match was to determine their opponent. I was really hoping Guyana would win as I knew Trinidad and Tobago would prove to be a tough opponent. They had already walloped the Tridents in a earlier match (by 70+ runs) and the final was being played on their home pitch. Unfortunately a Barbados/Guyana final was not to be as the Red Steel won the elimination match.

Sunday afternoon was the final…and while Shawn was optimistic, I was definitely less so. The Red Steel won the toss and opted to bat first. They scored 178 runs! Which definitely put the pressure on the Tridents. However, the Tridents came out roaring and after the first 6 overs, they had already scored 61 runs (to the Red Steel’s 32 at at the same point). Barbados was looking great! But then came the third batter. And while I’m not familiar with the ins and outs of the strategy of the game, I certainly questioned captain Keiran Pollard’s decision to put in an inexperienced player. Corbin had yet to play ANY matches in this tournament. And he sure did struggle. I never wanted a batter to get out so badly. Sadly, he stayed in the game far longer than he should have, and by the time he was caught out, the damage was done. The Red Steel hung on to win the match by 20 runs.

 

And while I think the trophy is rather ugly, after reading the concept behind it, it definitely is interesting.

CPL Trophy

CPL Trophy

 

This entry was posted in Barbados, Culinary Experiences, Sporting Events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

