Surprises and Recipe Redo: Macaroni Pie

This morning I got the most wonderful surprise. I was sitting at my computer, working on a resume when I heard a vehicle go by on the street. I didn’t think anything of it, as I’m always hearing vehicles. I then heard a voice say, “I’m looking for Kathleen Lizotte.” Ummm….WHAT?! Another voice replied, “Well, that’s the building over there and a Kathleen is there, but I’m not sure of her last name.” By this point, I am uber curious, and a little confused. They can’t really be talking about me!  I looked out the window and saw the mail carrier talking to the lady across the street. Next thing I knew, Velda was knocking on my door, and she handed me an envelope. It was a baby announcement card from my best friend, Megan. She had snooped out my address so she could surprise me. I was definitely surprised! And so touched. Getting surprise mail (that isn’t a bill) always puts a smile on my face. Which reminds me, I need to get some postcards and stamps and send out some mail of my own.

The rest of my afternoon saw me finishing up a resume, going for a swim and then coming home and attempting macaroni pie again. I think this one was definitely more successful. Since I have flour now, I was able to make a proper cheese sauce. And with my better oven, I wasn’t worried that my dinner would burn.  This one had better ratio of sauce to noodles and it definitely set up better. Oh…and in this one I used ketchup instead of tomato paste. Strangely, ketchup is the way to go. Just a nice hint of tomato flavour, without being overpowering.  I also added a bit of cooked ground beef to the sauce, along with a chopped onion and tomato.

It was very yummy and I have leftovers for tomorrow.

Macaroni Pie #2

Macaroni Pie #2

Macaroni Pie Recipe

Ingredients:

Note: No measurements are given because I didn’t measure anything.

  • Bajan Macaroni
  • oil
  • cooked ground beef
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • flour
  • milk
  • cheddar cheese, grated
  • mustard

Directions:

  1. Cook macaroni according to package directions. Drain and set aside.
  2. In the empty macaroni pot, heat some oil. Once hot, toss in onion, ground beef and saute a couple of minutes. Then toss in the tomato. Cook a couple minutes further.
  3. Add in some flour (if I had to guess, I’d say about 2 tbsps) cook a couple minutes to get rid of the flour taste. At this point, put in a squirt of ketchup.
  4. Pour in the milk and heat. Once the milk has started to heat up, add in most of your grated cheese and put in a squirt of mustard. Allow your sauce to cook a bit more and thicken slightly.
  5. Once the sauce has thickened a bit, put your noodles back in the pot and stir well. Pour everything into a greased baking dish, top with the rest of the grated cheese and bake at 350F for about 30 minutes.
  6. Let sit for 5 minutes or so before eating. Because this baby is HOT!
This entry was posted in Culinary Experiences, recipes, special moments and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

