Kadooment Day 2015 (a really picture heavy post)

Monday August 3, 2015 was my first ever Kadooment Day here in Barbados. And I hope it won’t be my last. In fact, I already have plans for next year to join a band and jump up properly.

Anyway, here’s how the day played out. At 3pm, I met Shawn at the restaurant he works at and we bused to the Spring Garden/Black Rock roundabout together.

All ready for Kadooment Day

All ready for Kadooment Day

When we got off the bus at the roundabout, there were tons of people lining the streets. Although it didn’t look like much was happening. So we walked a bit into Black Rock, stopping at a little store to stock up on rum and Coke. We continued walking, stopping to talk to people and lime. After a while, I could tell that something was happening. There was a dull roar coming up the road and people were getting excited. I looked down the road, to my right and was greeted with this sight:

The bands are arriving!

The bands are arriving!

For the next few hours, Shawn and I walked, stopping to watch the bands go by, jump up a bit, drink a bit, and lime a bit. I was floored by the costumes and I felt positively over dressed in comparison!

Scantily clad women abound

Scantily clad women abound

Lovely butterfly costume

Lovely butterfly costume

Walking like an Egyptian...Barbados style!

Walking like an Egyptian…Barbados style!

Pretty green feathery costume!

Pretty green feathery costume!

We finally arrived at Spring Garden, where it was PACKED with people. There were food/drink stalls, artisans (where I saw my favourite artist, Fred Odle) and just pure craziness!

The insanity at Spring Garden

The insanity at Spring Garden

After all the walking, my feet were toast. I had new blisters, my legs hurt and I needed to sit down. So Shawn and I found a vegetarian food stall, and I plopped down on the base of a street lamp to eat.  Check out the feet!

Loads of people at Spring Garden

Loads of people at Spring Garden

At this point we were both pooped and we started to make our way back to a bus stop. Even that was an adventure! Roads were closed and the buses were being re-routed. We finally found a stop where buses were stopping. And then we waited. And waited. And waited. When a bus finally showed up, it was so packed. Shawn and I still managed to squeeze on and then we slowly made our up back up the Black Rock Main Rd heading towards Holetown. The whole evening was an amazing experience and I am so glad I got to see it!

This entry was posted in Barbados, special moments and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kadooment Day 2015 (a really picture heavy post)

  1. It is wonderful when our Caribbean friends allow us to share their cultural experiences, isn’t it? You will never forget your first Kadooment Day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

