Whoops…it’s a catch-up post

After the excitement of Foreday Morning and Grand Kadooment Day, I have allowed myself to have a laid back, quiet week.  I needed to get caught up on some work that I neglected over that crazy weekend. And I just needed to be by myself and not surrounded by people.

I did go to Shawn’s a couple of nights. And I realized something. As much as it annoys me that he’s ALWAYS late, he really is super sweet. He always makes sure he has rum, Coke, and limes for me and regardless of what time I get to his place, he always makes me dinner. I eat a lot of tuna gravy at his place…not that I mind, because it is so darn tasty. Last Thursday he used fresh fish (I can’t remember what he called them…one was red and it was SUPER tasty!).

On Saturday morning, I got up with Shawn and took the bus with him. I had decided to head to Bridgetown  and pick up a few things at the market. I also discovered that I can stay on the bus right to the bus terminal (which is right next to the market). I got a good haul. For $32 bbd ($16 US), I got a 3 lb chicken, 1/2 pound of green beans, 2lbs of tomatoes, 5 bananas, 2 avocados, 1 orange, 2 bulbs of garlic, and a bag of spinach. When I got home, I cut the chicken into 10 pieces, bagged it up and put it in the freezer. The back and giblets will get made into stock.

Yesterday I will confess to doing NOTHING. I got into a book and that was it. I was done for the day. I was a little more productive today. I had my usual Monday morning call with Grandma and Audrey, did a small load of hand-washing, worked on a resume and then went for a swim. I wish I had taken my camera with me to the beach because I actually had a small group of fish playing with me!

After I had swum my usual 4 long laps, I was treading water when I saw a flash of silvery blue under my feet. And then another, and another, and another! They would take turns coming up to the surface and blowing air bubbles at me before swimming back down to my feet. So I put my face in and blew bubbles in the water. Well, the fish went bonkers! Swimming through the bubbles, blowing them back at me. It was so surreal! I played with these fish for a good five minutes before the rain started falling and they swam off.

A small group of these fish were blowing air bubbles at me

A small group of these fish were blowing air bubbles at me

This entry was posted in Barbados, day-to-day life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

