Recipe: Bajan Fish Cakes

Before I  share pictures of my delicious dinner, I have to point out that I can’t take any credit for the recipe. I didn’t make it up. I didn’t tweak it.  I have recently started following a fellow blogger, VillaTwenty3, and she posted her Bajan Fish Cake recipe. I thought they looked delicious. So this morning I hopped on the bus to Holetown so I could get some salt fish.

Here’s how I prepped my salt fish. I took half the package and put it in a big pot of water (make sure you cover the fish). I let the fish boil for about 30 minutes or so. I then drained it, and covered it with water again. I did a second boil of about 30 minutes. At this point I tasted it. I still wanted it a bit salty (that’s where the flavour is), but I didn’t want to feel like my cells were being desiccated.  Anyway, after the two boils, it was perfect. I then proceeded with the recipe.

Fish Cake Batter

Fish Cake Batter

The finished fish cake was perfect. A bit of heat, a bit of crunch, and the perfect amount of salt.

Mmm....Bajan fish cakes from scratch. I served them with a mayo/hot sauce mix

Mmm….Bajan fish cakes from scratch. I served them with a mayo/hot sauce mix

This entry was posted in Barbados, recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recipe: Bajan Fish Cakes

  1. villatwenty3 says:

    Amazing! Looks good. Thanks for sharing. Sorry I didn’t post how I made the sauce, but you got it down 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

