Feeling a bit reflective tonight

I am sitting here, enjoying the solitude of having the entire building to myself. The frogs are serenading me, and I’m trying to decide what I want to blog about. I could talk about my new friend, Lucky.

Lucky and I enjoying a swim at the Lone Star beach

Lucky and I enjoying a swim at the Lone Star beach

Or I could tell you about the Reggae Road Show I went to last night.

Buggy Nhakente Fully Loaded at the Bajan Green Reggae Road Show

Buggy Nhakente Fully Loaded at the Bajan Green Reggae Road Show

Maybe you want to read about my afternoon at the beach by the Lone Star, and all the fish feeding activity as the sun was setting. I could tell you about the baby turtle I saw on the beach, as it struggled to make its way to the ocean.

I could write about any number of things. But tonight I want to write about me. About how happy I am. About how comfortable in my skin I am. About how I feel like I belong here. About opportunities being presented to me that are going to allow me to more or less live here. For years I talked about doing this and I have only one regret: that it took me so long to make this my reality. I regret letting fear hold me back for so long. I can see and feel the ¬†improvements in my health. My blood pressure is down, my weight is down, I’m eating better, I’m drinking less, I’m sleeping more. I smile all the time. And every day, something inevitably happens, an extra-special moment, that serves to remind me that I am truly in my happy place. Often, it’s a beautiful sunset:

Sunsets in Barbados never get old

Sunsets in Barbados never get old

Today though, I got to talk to a spear fisherman who was out looking for octopus. He was so pleasant and spent a few minutes chatting with Lucky and I. He showed us a couple that he had caught.

A local fisherman's catch of octopus (sea cat)

A local fisherman’s catch of octopus (sea cat)

And tonight while I was making my dinner, I was startled by some loud booms. They continued for a few minutes so I grabbed my camera and ran up to the roof. I stood up there and watched a lovely display of fireworks.

Pretty fireworks!

Pretty fireworks!

Tomorrow I’ll tell you about the Reggae Road Show and our adventures getting home.

This entry was posted in Barbados, day-to-day life, special moments, Traditional Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feeling a bit reflective tonight

  1. Iambizi says:

    happy for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

