Special Moments: Stunning Sunset and Friendly Bajans

Today’s sunset was one of those perfect moments. And I almost didn’t see it. After spending the afternoon up in the hammock, I came back to my flat just before it started raining. I then hemmed and hawed about whether or not to go to the grocery store and pick up a few things. The rain had finally died down to a slow drizzle so I decided to go out. When I came out of the store, I saw this:

Sunset over the beach in Holetown

Sunset over the beach in Holetown

I hopped on a bus home and the further north we went, the more intense the colours got. I had already decided to head straight to the beach when I got off the bus. But I was still worried I would miss it. However, I was in luck. And what I saw was today’s Special Moment.

Jaw dropping sunset

Jaw dropping sunset

I also had to laugh because I got “told off” by three people for not coming to see them more often. Last night at Holetown karaoke, I thought I saw Troy (Shawn’s friend). I ran into Troy outside the mall tonight and he gave me grief for not saying hello (he hadn’t seen me last night otherwise he would have said hello). I promised him that next time I would shout him up. Then as I was walking out of the grocery store, I heard someone say, “HEEEY!” I look up and there’s Helen, a beach vendor who sells handmade dolls and coconut bird feeders. She was shocked to see me because she thought I’d left the island. She was a bit hurt that I don’t come to Holetown more often. So I promised I would come and visit her one day this week. As Helen and I were talking, Zelda (another beach vendor, this one of dresses) came up and also told me off for not visiting her. They know I won’t buy anything from them, but they are fun to talk to. So I’ll have to make a point of going to the beach in Holetown more often.

This entry was posted in Barbados, special moments and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Special Moments: Stunning Sunset and Friendly Bajans

  1. Pingback: Beautiful Sunsets I’ve been Privileged to Witness | 161 Days in Paradise

Leave a Reply

