The Coconut Man comes a calling!

Yesterday I treated myself to a large bottle (2 L) of fresh coconut water. Texas climbed I don’t know know how many trees to gather the coconuts for Linda, Danny and I to each get a large bottle. I also learned quite a bit about coconuts. Like mangoes, I had no idea there were different kinds of coconuts. The ones with all the water are simply called “water coconuts”. Makes sense to me. And boy, is there ever a lot of water in those coconuts!

Mmm! Nothing like drinking straight from the coconut!

Mmm! Nothing like drinking straight from the coconut!

Texas also had a couple of “jelly coconuts”. Those were yellow shelled, and while they had a little bit of water, the real treat there was the white, gelatinous coconut flesh inside. Watching Texas get at the water in the coconuts was impressive. He handled that machete like a champ!

Texas getting the fresh coconut water out

Texas getting the fresh coconut water out (Note: those yellow coconuts are the jelly ones)

He also brought me a small breadfruit, and a HUGE one to show us. It was the biggest breadfruit I’ve ever seen!

Gigantic breadfruit

Gigantic breadfruit

And just to wrap up the saga of my Extension of Stay Application – I went to Immigration yesterday morning. Within minutes I had my passport back in my hands and I got exactly the extension I asked for. I am legally here until October 26, 2015.

Happy day! My Extension of Stay was officially granted

Happy day! My Extension of Stay was officially granted

This entry was posted in Barbados, Traditional Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Coconut Man comes a calling!

Leave a Reply

