Recipe: Bajan Banana Bread (with added coconut)

Last week I had some quickly ripening bananas. And rather than throwing them out, I tossed them in the freezer and decided to make banana bread out of them. I ended up using the recipe from The Barbados Cookbook. This bread is perfectly moist, without being overly so. I think it’s the best banana bread I’ve ever had. Sorry Mom.

Banana Bread

Ingredients

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 1 cup sugar (I recommend demerara sugar for Bajan authenticity
  • 1 egg
  • 1.5 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Unsweetened desiccated coconut (optional)

Directions

Mash the bananas. Add the sugar, egg and oil, mixing well after each addition. Stir in the dry ingredients, adding coconut at the very end.

Note: I didn’t measure the coconut. I just poured some in.

Pour the batter into a greased baking dish, sprinkle some coconut on top, and bake in a 325F oven until done (approximately 45 minutes).

Bajan Banana Bread with coconut

Bajan Banana Bread with coconut

This entry was posted in Culinary Experiences, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recipe: Bajan Banana Bread (with added coconut)

  1. I love it when I’m thinking about making something, then see a recipe for the very thing I’m thinking about. These bananas are getting blacker by the minute — thanks for sharing! I’m making it today 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

