Yesterday’s sky events and making the most of every day I have left here

Boo-urns. I’m not sure if it’s another cold, or allergies, but my nose is a bit sniffly, and I have another stupid cough. However, with only 28 days left in my happy place (for this round), I am dedicating myself to blogging every day, and finding a beautiful moment to share with all of you.

Since I had a great view of yesterday’s lunar excitement, I’m going to start with that. Just before sunset yesterday, I made my way to the beach. And the sunset was glorious. The colours make me think I should learn how to paint. I’m just going to let the pictures speak for themselves.

Another beautiful sunset

Another beautiful sunset

A catamaran on a sunset cruise

A catamaran on a sunset cruise

Mr. Sun is almost gone

Mr. Sun is almost gone

This here is pure perfection:

Barbados Sunset Perfection

Barbados Sunset Perfection

And then the moon started making its appearance.

The moon is rising

The moon is rising

At 8:45pm, I made my way to the roof, armed with my camera, my phone, and my glass of wine. I was a little worried the clouds would get in the way.

Move clouds! I want to see the lunar eclipse!

Move clouds! I want to see the lunar eclipse!

I then spent the next couple of hours watching. None of my pictures are great, since the light was wrong for my cameras. But, just knowing that I was watching something that hadn’t occurred since I was 4, and won’t happen again until I’m 55, was amazing. Grandma even said to me this morning, “I will never again in my lifetime see what I saw last night.” And that made me sad. And humbled. And miss my Grandma.

To end my attempt at waxing poetic about the lunar eclipse, here’s a really neat picture. My camera decided to pick up all kinds of reflections. But I love it anyway.

Beams of light from the Moon

Beams of light from the Moon

Today’s beautiful moment was a simple one. But it is no less spectacular. There are trees here that change colour in the fall. Who knew?! I sure didn’t! But here is the mango tree right next to me. There are now these lovely pink sections that I swear weren’t there yesterday.

Mango Tree leaves turning pink

Mango Tree leaves turning pink

This entry was posted in Barbados, special moments and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

