Making the most of the weekends I have left here

So much for blogging every day. But my case of “the sniffles” turned into a cold. Full-blown with a lovely cough, sneezing, feeling blah and crappy. Shawn also had it, as did his roommate, several people he works with and pretty much everyone I took the bus with. And while I didn’t feel like I was dying this time, I didn’t get out very much.

However, this weekend has been really amazing. Shawn and I had both decided that come hell or high water we were going out Friday night. And boy, along with Luca, Chiara and Troy, we painted the town red. Or maybe that was the rum talking. Anyway, we started at Surfside. After a couple drinks there, we made our to to Wendy’s Sports Bar in Fitts Village. We were going to get our karaoke on. Ok…so I was the only one who got my karaoke on. And it wasn’t pretty. It may come as a surprise to my readers, but I can sing. I’m actually pretty good. But singing karaoke is so much different from singing in choirs. With a microphone in my hand, I couldn’t hear myself. One of my friends politely told me I sounded like a maimed animal. Yup…I agree with that assessment.

Since I can’t seem to add video to my blog posts, here’s the link to the video on my YouTube channel. I warned you – it’s not pretty: Kathleen sounds like dying animal as she sings.

When we left karaoke, Luca and Chiara, and Shawn and I all headed to the beach. A late night swim was just the thing.

Yesterday was nice and low key. That’s ok. I needed to recover from Friday. Today though has been really awesome. Luca and Chiara and I went to the Holder’s Market. We didn’t buy anything (other than coffee, carrot cake, brownies, and juice), but it was nice to walk around and look at the crafts from the various vendors. We then made our a way to Batts Rock Beach. It was beautiful there!

The lovely beach at Batts Rock

The lovely beach at Batts Rock

After swimming for a while, I went for a walk along the beach. And took some really neat pictures.

Just what every beach needs: concrete stairs

Just what every beach needs: concrete stairs

Bajan Inuksuit

Bajan Inuksuit

More Bajan Inuksuit

More Bajan Inuksuit

Modern Beach Art

Modern Beach Art

When I got back from my walk, I went for another swim. Suddenly there was a commotion from the beach: monkeys had arrived!

Monkeys arrive at Batts Rock Beach

Monkeys arrive at Batts Rock Beach

Want to see a whole bunch of people get of the water? Just introduce monkeys to the scene. Even the locals got out to see!

Peekaboo! I see you!

Peekaboo! I see you!

After the monkeys left, Luca and Chiara dropped me off at home. But I wasn’t done with the beach yet. I made my way to the beach across the street where I got to see a HUGE puffer fish swimming along the bottom. And then, I again was honoured by the presence of not one, but TWO sea turtles. I watched them feed and slowly swim around my feet. I could have touched them!

And after my glorious day with the wildlife of Barbados, I’m going to brave the wild men of Barbados – Shawn, Luca, Chiara, and I are off to the steel pan music at Surfside and then more karaoke in Holetown.

This entry was posted in Barbados, special moments and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

