161 days gone…or See you later, Barbados

It is currently 5:54pm on October 25th. Tomorrow at 12:15pm, I will be picked up to make my way to the airport and get on a plane back to Canada. In the past, I have always left a piece of my heart here in Barbados. This time I am leaving my whole heart.

  • I don’t want to say goodbye to Shawn tomorrow. I don’t want to not see him for another 5 months.
  • I don’t want to say goodbye to Luca and Chiara. They have made me feel like family.
  • I don’t want to say goodbye to the guys here at WKD Beach Lofts. They have become really good friends.
  • I don’t want to say goodbye to the beach across the road. It has become my private gym.
  • I don’t want to say goodbye to the happy, carefree person I am when I’m here. I like myself better this way.

However, I know that this goodbye isn’t permanent. It’s not forever. It’s not really goodbye. More like a see you later.

Hanging at the beach behind Port St. Charles with Luca and Chiara

Hanging at the beach behind Port St. Charles with Luca and Chiara

This entry was posted in Barbados and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 161 days gone…or See you later, Barbados

  1. Iambizi says:

    elizabeth spoke well. 5 months will fly by.
    bizi

    Like

  2. Elizabeth says:

    You are so lucky to have had this opportunity and have learned so much about yourself through this amazing adventure. You will be back as soon as you can. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Lauren says:

    The end of this entry made me smile because I was just about to write to you that Steve always said to me when we were long distance that it wasn’t a goodbye. It was a “see you later.” One thing that helped me that last time Steve visited was knowing that we’d never have to do one of those big horrible goodbyes again. That the next time would be for good. It still hurts, but it made it hurt a little less.

    Like

Leave a Reply

