Dealing with “supposed to”

While I was away, I had the opportunity to meet a lady in Bridgetown with a very interesting life story. All her life she had been fighting the idea of “supposed to.” You know, the way we’re “supposed to” live our lives. We’re supposed to go to school. We’re supposed to get good jobs. We’re supposed to do this, that, or the other thing.

Since coming back to Canada on October 26th, I find myself struggling against this idea. I’ve already had several people tell me that I’m supposed to be happy to be back here. That I’m supposed to live my life in the “now”, and that I’m supposed to get a job that will lead to a career.

My response to that? Oh fuck no. I know myself better than that. I am not supposed to live my life like that. Over the years, I have learned that I need to do things that make me happy. And what makes me happy is finding ways that will get me back to Barbados. If that means I get a job, rather than a career move, then so be it. If it means I countdown the days until I get on a plane, so be it.

I am not going to apologize for living my life. And if that doesn’t fit with your idea of “supposed to”, then that’s your problem. Not mine.

IMG_4953

This entry was posted in day-to-day life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dealing with “supposed to”

  1. Miriam B says:

    Good for you. Go on and follow your dreams – life’s too short not to. 🙂

    Like

  2. Linda says:

    Good on you Kathleen! That lady wasn’t so bad huh?? 🙂

    Like

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Way to go, Kathleen. We all must follow our own path while we walk the earth.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Iambizi says:

    It is our job to make ourselves happy,

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

