Recipe: Chicken and Mushrooms in a White Wine Thyme Sauce

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it, but while I’m back in Canada this time, I am staying with my very dear friends – Megan and Ian. They have opened their home to me, given me a place to stay. While I am here, I am helping out with housework, cooking, and babysitting my beautiful god-daughter, Aurora. Hehe…I couldn’t resist throwing that in there.

Anyway, this morning Megan asked me if I could “play Chopped and frankenstein something for dinner.” And this is what I came up with: Chicken and Mushrooms in a White Wine Thyme sauce. It uses techniques I learned in culinary school for making Chicken Fricassee. I tried to keep the chicken and sauce light coloured. There is no cream or butter in this, but you could easily add some cream to the sauce at the end of cooking.

Recipe: Chicken and Mushrooms in a White Wine Thyme Sauce

Ingredients

  • Chicken pieces (thighs and drumsticks, bone-in, skin-on)
  • Oil (I used a combination of vegetable and olive oil, but you could use butter)
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups white mushrooms, cut in quarters
  • 2 tbsps flour
  • 2 tsps dried thyme leaves
  • 3/4 cup white wine (I used Pinot Grigio)
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

*In a heavy skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add chicken pieces in batches and cook until lightly browned and the outside of the pieces looks cooked. As each batch of chicken browns, remove from skillet and put in a 9×13 baking dish.

IMG_6549

Lightly browned chicken pieces

*In another skillet, heat some vegetable oil and some of the fat from the chicken over medium heat. When hot, put your finely chopped onions on the pan. Allow to soften slightly, but try not to add too much colour. Add your garlic and mushrooms and cook for about 5 minutes. Add the flour and the dried thyme to the vegetables and cook for a couple of minutes to get rid of the flour flavour.

IMG_6548

The first steps of the sauce: onions, garlic, and mushrooms

*Once your flour has cooked a bit, add the wine, stirring to ensure there are no lumps. Cook a few minutes to burn off the alcohol and reduce the wine a little. Then pour in the chicken broth, stir and season with salt and pepper to taste. Bring up to a boil, and then reduce to a simmer for 5 minutes or so.

IMG_6550

Mmm…sauce for the chicken

*Pour the sauce over the chicken in the baking dish. Put in an oven preheated to 375F and bake for 45 minutes

IMG_6553

Chicken and Mushrooms in a White Wine Thyme sauce

I served this with rice and green peas. A simple salad of various greens would have been really nice too.

IMG_6554

Dinner is served

 

This entry was posted in Culinary Experiences, Main course, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recipe: Chicken and Mushrooms in a White Wine Thyme Sauce

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Hmmmm…..definitely trying this one!

    Like

  2. Miriam B says:

    Yum, this sounds good. Love mushrooms in white wine so might have to give it a go! Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

