Countdown to Christmas – a Celebration of Happiness blog series

I just finished watching The Polar Express, my first Christmas movie of this holiday season. And I’m already feeling teary and blue. I know I’m not alone in struggling with Christmas. This used to be my favourite time of year, but now it is one of my most difficult. 2015 will mark the 17th anniversary of my dad’s death. We buried him on Christmas Eve 1998 and  Christmas hasn’t been the same since. On top of that, my Mom passed away in March 2010 and not a day goes by that I don’t think of her. She was one of my best friends and my favourite Barbados traveling companion.

Celebration of Happiness Blog Series

However, this year I am going to try really hard to focus on the positive. So to that end, I am challenging myself to an Advent blog series. Starting December 1, I will post something positive every day. It might be a picture or a story. It might be a memory or a wish. But whatever it is, it will be positive.

I’d love for any of you who struggle at this time of year to join me in this celebration of the positive. Heck, even if you don’t have a hard time at Christmas, I’d love to hear from you. What are things that make you happy at this time of year?

christmas-countdown

Countdown to Christmas with my Celebrate Happiness blog series

This entry was posted in Christmas, day-to-day life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Countdown to Christmas – a Celebration of Happiness blog series

  1. What a brilliant idea to do Advent posts. Looking forward to them.
    For me, I love the smells associated to the season — baking cookies, wood burning in the fireplace, candles, pine trees — all of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gwen says:

    Christmas time is a struggle for me too – both my dad and my sister died in the month of December. I shall look forward to your happiness blogs! One thing that makes me happy at this time of year is getting Christmas cards. So nice to hear from friends and relatives I rarely get to see and I’m delighted they want to keep in touch, even if only by a Christmas greeting once a year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

