Advent Blog Series: Tea makes me happy today

I know…tea seems like an odd topic to post about. But my sinuses are congested, my ears are blocked, my head hurts, and I feel like I’ve been punched in the face. So, I have spent my afternoon with warm, comforting tea.

Over the years, I have become a bit of a tea snob. I typically only buy loose leaf tea. And I use one these things to make my tea in: the 18oz tea steeper from David’s Tea.

I love watching the tea leaves bloom in the hot water and when I put the tea steeper on top of my cup, voila! Tea pours into my mug. Yes, Alton Brown would hate it as it is very much a one use gadget (I tried to strain fresh squeezed orange juice through it once…what a mess!) but it is very much part of my tea making ritual.

I drink all kinds of teas: black teas, green teas, white teas, herbal and fruit infusions. Today’s selection was Milk Oolong – a nice, creamy, rich tasting tea.

Another part of my tea ritual is selecting the cup or mug I’m going to drink my tea out of. Unfortunately, my favourite three mugs are at my Grandma’s (which I need remember to grab the next time I’m there). So today I decided to use my brand new travel mug. I bought it at a Cracker Barrel restaurant somewhere in Ohio. It’s pretty and kept my tea hot all afternoon.

IMG_6567

My pretty paisley-patterned travel mug

This entry was posted in Advent Series 2015, day-to-day life, Special Blog Series and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Advent Blog Series: Tea makes me happy today

  1. pinkiebag says:

    Great read. I love my tea as well. I love lemon and ginger tea when I am under the weather.
    http://pinkiebag.com/

    Like

  2. melissajane14 says:

    Sorry to hear that you’re feeling poorly, I hope that the tea makes it better 🙂 And tea IS a great thing to blog about. It’s a beverage with an amazing history…Wars have been fought over tea.
    Besides, it’s your blog and you can write about whatever you want. Thanks for visiting my blog – All the best for a speedy recovery.

    Like

  3. Miriam says:

    I love my tea too. Especially green and verbena tea. Another of my favorite teas when I’m not feeling well is citrus tea where I squeeze 2 oranges, and a lemon and honey infused with a tea bag. It’s so soothing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

