Advent Blog Series: Being Intentionally Positive

I have a confession: being intentionally positive every day is hard. I certainly don’t think of myself as being negative or pessimistic, but this time of year really does bring out the worst in me. Happiness and positivity can be hard to find. Especially when things aren’t going the way I want them to be and I feel like my life is wrapped up in frustration and disappointment.

Being Positive when times seem rough

I know that it can be hard to be positive and upbeat all the time. And sometimes it can be so easy to get mired down in how everything seems to be going wrong. When I feel myself sinking into that hole, I get back to basics. I remind myself that I’m lucky to have a roof over my head, and food to eat. No matter how bad my circumstances have seemed, they have never been so dire that I’ve been homeless. And for that I am eternally grateful. I have family and friends who will never let that happen to me.

The Trivial things can be important too…

The other day I made a post about tea. And a reader very nicely told me that it’s ok if the little things are what make me smile. And she’s right. I don’t have to be happy about big, life-altering things all the time. It’s ok to be happy for the little things – you know, the fact that I can knit and make people wonderful Christmas presents. Or, the fact that I can bake and put together goody baskets for family and friends.

So today’s post celebrates those seemingly trivial things.

  1. Knitting
  2. Baking
  3. Comfortable beds
  4. Talking to my grandma
  5. Access to a washing machine and dryer
  6. Hanging out with Rory
  7. A yummy glass of red wine while I watch tv
  8. My awesome stash of soft, lovely yarn
  9. Looking at pictures from my travels

When you feel really low, what are some of the small, seemingly trivial things that lift your spirits?

IMG_5044

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Advent Series 2015, day-to-day life, Special Blog Series. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Advent Blog Series: Being Intentionally Positive

  1. melissajane14 says:

    I like Elizabeth’s idea of planning trips…I’ve planned hundreds that I’ve never taken. Have a great day 🙂

    Like

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Tea, coffee, wine, walks, grandkids, reading, cooking, music, and, not a small thing, but….planning and going on trips (booked an apartment in Madrid for our March/April trip just tonight).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Miriam says:

    Walking in the fresh air always lifts my spirits. As does baking, picking up the phone and talking to a friend, a glass of red, a good laugh and allowing myself to be silly once in a while. Thank you for a lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

