Advent Blog Series: Candies and Cards

Candies and Cards made me smile today

After yesterday’s post about Christmas baking, I got talking to my sister and we shared some memories of our mom baking. Jenn remembered the candy, and like me, wishes we had the recipe. We then laughed about the time that mom was whipping cream to put on cupcakes and she took the beaters out of the bowl before turning off the mixer. There was whipped cream all over the kitchen. It was on the cupboards, on the curtains, on the counter, and all over Mom. Mom couldn’t believe she’d forgotten to turn off the mixer. Jenn and I just laughed, and laughed, and laughed.

Recreating Candy Memories

Anyway, I digress. As a result of that conversation with Jenn, I have decided to try finding the recipe for those soft peppermint candies that mom made. First up, are a couple of butter mint recipes. I’m looking at trying one of these recipes:

Old-Fashioned Butter Mints

Easy Homemade Butter Mints

It looks like these recipes will give me candies that firm up as they dry. Honestly, I am trying to remember a candy that Mom made almost 30 years ago. And they very well might have dried out and firmed up. So butter mints will be my first attempt. I’ll give them a go this weekend. Stay tuned for the results!

Christmas Cards and Holiday Greetings

I love getting Christmas cards. And I know I need to be better at sending them out. So this year I joined a card swap on a knitting forum I belong to. For the past three days, I have gotten cards trickling in. I’ve received 10 so far, and they are certainly helping to put me in the Christmas spirit. How do you feel about sending out Christmas cards? Love it or hate it, getting mail that isn’t bills ALWAYS makes me smile.

IMG_6584

Christmas cards in the tree

 

This entry was posted in Advent Series 2015, Christmas, day-to-day life, recipes, Special Blog Series and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

