Advent Blog Series: My Goddaughter

I will admit, today got off to a rough start. I woke up to an email reminding me that today was the 17th anniversary of my dad’s death. As if I needed to be reminded of that horrible day. As if I will ever forget that horrible day.

However, I knew I had something wonderful to look forward to today. Megan and Ian were planning to go to a movie tonight, and I was going to babysit Rory. And Rory is the subject of my post today (and yes, I have permission to make this post and share this picture). She is a huge bringer of joy to my life. The way she crinkles up her nose when she smiles. The way she lights up when her favourite people walk into the room. The way she laughs when I ask her what a cow says and then I “moo” at her.

My favourite moment was after I had fed her a bit of rice cereal and she had fallen asleep in her high chair. I picked her and she proceeded to sleep on my shoulder for 90 minutes.

IMG_6593

Shh…sleeping baby….

This entry was posted in Advent Series 2015, day-to-day life, Special Blog Series, special moments. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Advent Blog Series: My Goddaughter

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Aaaahhhh… The circle of life. Nothing like cuddling with a sleeping baby to make you slow down and enjoy the moment.

    Like

  2. Miriam says:

    Amongst the sadness how wonderful to focus on the beautiful people in your life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

