2015 Blog Report and how to make it better in 2016

2015 WordPress Blog Report

Last night I got an email from WordPress – it was a link to my 2015 Blog Report. The report highlighted things like: 1) my most viewed post, or 2)  the day that had the most views, or 3) how many countries have had people stop by my blog. (In case you’re wondering, the answers are:  1) Let’s Talk about Island Time, 2) August 13, 2015 when I had 131 views [it totally had something to do with the posts detailing my Extension of Stay saga], and 3) 31.)

Why do I blog?

The report also got me thinking about WHY I blog. I originally started this as a way to keep all of my family and friends up to speed while I was in Barbados. It was a great space to share stories, pictures, recipes, and general musings about my adventures while living in another country. However, it has become more than that now. It has become a way for me to connect with other travellers, other foodies, other readers, knitters, music-lovers. In short, it connects me with the world. And I will confess to being a bit blown away by where my visitors come from. Russia, Indonesia, Vietnam, Sri Lanka, and St. Kitts & Nevis, just to name a few.

Obsessed with Checking my Stats

I also love checking my stats. After I make a post, I keep refreshing my stats page just so I can see those numbers change.  I love knowing how people get to my site (Facebook is the biggest), but I’m always thrilled when I see that someone came to my page through a search engine. I have also had a random visitor via Pinterest (which is really throwing me for a loop, because I have no idea how that happened. Pinterest is completely foreign to me).

Growing my Readership

The report also got me thinking about how I want to expand my base of readers. Yes, 31 countries in my first 8 months is kind of cool, but I’d like to try and double that in 2016. I want to have at least 50 more dedicated followers, not just visitors who stumble upon my blog (although it is cool that people are just finding it). For those of you that have been blogging for a while, or are just really good at pimping out your posts, I’d love to hear how you’ve increased your readership. Is there a way to use Pinterest for this? And how do I make my tweets less boring?  I really am open to any and all suggestions in this arena.

pimp_my_blog

 

This entry was posted in 2016 Goals, day-to-day life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2015 Blog Report and how to make it better in 2016

  1. melissajane14 says:

    Congratulations on your blogging success in 2015 and best wishes for continued success in 2016! I’ve read several posts about how to use social media to push traffic to your blog (Pinterest was certainly one way of doing it). A simple search on Google will pull up thousands of articles on the subject. Just be aware that most bloggers write about the subject because they are trying to sell their services (SEO, professsional blogging, etc).
    All the best! Melissa 🙂

    Like

  2. It was a fascinating report, wasn’t it? My biggest referrer was Facebook too, but I don’t post there too often for fear of being a pest. I heard the thing to do was create a new Facebook account for the blog, then encourage your friends and family to ‘like’ it. I haven’t done it yet, but I’m considering it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

