Welcome, New Year! Bring on 2016!

36482161-3D-illustration-dates-January-1-2016-new-year-Stock-Illustration

A Brand New Year

While Christmas is a rough holiday for me, I absolutely love New Year’s Day. I know people say that every day is a chance for a fresh start, but for me, there’s something about changing a calendar. Looking at all those blank squares, just waiting to be filled in with appointments and plans. Being able to say, “This is the year that I accomplish X.”

Optimism reigns Supreme

As blue as I feel over Christmas, I always feel so optimistic as New Year’s approaches. This is it…a chance to make big changes. Or even small changes. It might seem silly, but changing the year is like giving myself permission to reinvent myself, in big and small ways. I can already feel that 2016 is going to be a great year. I am going to MAKE it a great year. With the goals I posted a couple of days ago, I already feel lighter. Just having them written down somewhere gives me something to work on. Something amazing is going to happen in 2016. I just know it.

Getting started on my 2016 Goals

In past years, I have not gotten started on my goals right away, if I even had any in the first place. This year though, I have already jumped in with both feet. Progress is being made. This morning I restarted the Couch to 5K training program and did the W1D1 workout. I have picked out, and read the first chapter, of my first book for the PopSugar book challenge. I am reading The People in the Trees by Hanya Yanagihara. Lastly, I have started looking into how to increase exposure to my blog and I’ve been playing around on my Twitter account. I am as obsessed with watching my stats there as I am here.

What does New Year’s mean to you?

Is January 1 just another day for you? Or is it something more? Something exciting? Whatever it is for you, I wish all of you the best in 2016. Happy New Year’s!

happy-new-year-2016-clipart

 

This entry was posted in 2016 Goals, day-to-day life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome, New Year! Bring on 2016!

  1. melissajane14 says:

    I wake up with a renewed sense of purpose pretty much every day, so I don’t really make New Years resolutions. But I do like the idea of leaving the past in the past and looking to the future, and a clean calendar does help to highlight the idea of possibility.
    All the best to you Kathleen! I’ll be reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

