Proper Self-Care as part of the Healing Process

Anyone who has struggled with grief of any sort knows just how important self-care is to the healing process. I know it. Simple things like eating healthily, getting some exercise, a bubble bath – these are all things I can do to help myself heal. But sometimes it all feels like too much of a chore. Sometimes I forget to take care of myself, to indulge in a pampering moment. This afternoon and evening has been about reminding myself of the good it can do.

Today I followed some more advice from my doctor: I got some exercise outside. It was fun, it was social, it was exactly what I needed. After lunch, June and I put Rory in her stroller and headed out for a walk. It was really beautiful. We passed some lovely old homes before turning and making our way along the river.

20160504_141711

Walking along the river in Arnprior.

After dinner, I decided to do something I hadn’t done in a few months: take a long, luxurious bubble bath (there are no pictures of me in the tub – nobody needs to see that). Anyway, I got set up with a book (The Boy Who Stole the Leopard’s Spots by Tamar Myers), a big mug of Milk Oolong Tea, and some music (the Living Fields album by Portico). It was so wonderful to just lie there. I will admit that my anxiety almost got the better of me (why am I doing nothing?! I could be working on my resume. I could be sorting through those boxes I brought from Grandma’s. I could be…I should be….why am I not?) but after a couple of deep breaths, I realized that no, I was doing what I needed to be doing: relaxing. I got out of the tub and I felt better than I have in days. A bubble bath is such a simple thing, but it really did wonders to clear some cobwebs from my soul.

Some of my go-to self-care routines include: listening to music, knitting, reading, looking through cookbooks and planning a tasty meal, a nap. What are some of the things you do to indulge in a moment of self-care?

This entry was posted in day-to-day life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Proper Self-Care as part of the Healing Process

  1. Miriam says:

    Good on you Kathleen. Must admit I haven’t had a bubble bath in ages but I do love my regular walks in nature and enjoying some Zumba. Music is a definite pick me upper!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

