Sometimes living hurts – but it will get better

This morning I made use of another resource available to me through the May Court Hospice – I met with the bereavement counsellor. While my meds are helping with the anxiety, I am still struggling with soul-crushing grief most days. Oh, and anger. I am irritable and cranky most days, and I seem to spend a lot of time biting my tongue. Because I don’t want to hurt the feelings of anyone I care about. But what I really want to tell people is that I need time. Please just let me have some time.

Bereavement Counselling Homework

J, my counsellor, gave me homework of sorts today. Over the course of my session, I mentioned that I very easily get bogged down in the negative; that I forget to take joy from the little things. So I was given a pretty little notebook and I’m going to use it to make myself more mindful of the good things that happen to me, and around me. I also have to make a more concerted effort to do something good for myself every day.

IMG_6767

My new Mindfulness Journal

Yes, sometimes living hurts. But I am doing all I can to make it better. I will eventually be ok.

This entry was posted in day-to-day life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sometimes living hurts – but it will get better

  1. Elizabeth says:

    A little gratitude and joy journal has helped me through some rough patches and has practically saved my daughter’s life. Take your time!

    Like

  2. Miriam says:

    Oh Kathleen, the writing will help. It’s ironic because I’ve just brought myself a new journal too, for my own personal challenges that I’m working on. Hope it provides you with some comfort. And yes, you need time, lots of time to grieve but you’ll get there. Hugs to you.

    Like

    • Kathleen L. says:

      It’s kind of funny to me because I have tried a couple of times to make gratitude posts in my blog. But sometimes the things that bring me joy just seem SO trivial, yet so personal and intimate, that I don’t really want to share that with the world. I like being able to just jot down a little list in this book, and not worry about doing a whole blog post around it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

