Cooking Experiment: From the Pantry Mole Sauce

For dinner tonight, I experimented a little bit. It was just ok. I definitely didn’t knock it out of the park. However, there is potential in this dish, so I will try again.

Trying to do something different with Chicken

On the menu tonight was bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs. But instead of our usual methods (stir-fry, BBQ, or baking in a simple mushroom sauce), I thought I would branch out and try something different. Of course, my goal was to use what we had here. I opened up the baking drawer and saw chocolate. “Ooh,” I thought, “a mole sauce!” Now, I’ve never made mole before, but I’m always willing to try something new.

A bit of this, a bit of that, and don’t forget the Chocolate

Into my saucepan, I put in some finely chopped garlic and onion, some cumin, cinnamon, chili powder, and bay leaf. Some chicken broth joined the mix and I let it simmer for a bit. Only after some of liquid had reduced did I add some chopped chocolate. I used unsweetened baking chocolate (because that’s what I had). I then had to play with the flavours to balance everything out. Sugar, honey, fresh lime juice, and smoky bacon hot sauce all got added. Like I said, it was O.K. Not great. Next time I will plan for it and actually get some proper smoky chili peppers. Because my mole was definitely missing that smokiness.

Oh well. I can’t strike gold every time I’m in the kitchen. At least it was edible.

20160526_193101

Oven-baked Lime Garlic Chicken with Mole Sauce, sautéed kale and red peppers, steamed white rice

This entry was posted in Cooking Experiments, Main course and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cooking Experiment: From the Pantry Mole Sauce

  1. Miriam says:

    Now that’s different, adding chocolate to a sauce. It’s all about balance isn’t it, getting those flavors right. Still sounds pretty good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

