Enjoying the Outdoors in one of Ottawa’s many Green Spaces

One of my favourite things to do, now that the weather is finally nice, is to sit on the grass. I love to feel the breeze on my face, listen to the birds in the trees, and smell the flowers.

Green Spaces in Ottawa

I sometimes forget how lucky I am to live in the area I do. I grew up in Ottawa and I am always amazed at the number of green spaces that the city has. Yesterday I had a chance to sit in one of those green spaces. Patterson’s Creek Park is a lovely space along Bank Street, in an area of Ottawa called The Glebe.

20160530_112904

Patterson’s Creek Park, Ottawa

With my knitting and a coffee, I stretched out under a tree and watched people walk through the park. Some people were alone. Others had dogs and some had baby strollers. As I sat there, I experienced a couple of small interactions with nature. A fuzzy bumblebee landed on my leg, taking a few steps before flying over to the grass next to me.

20160530_112914

A fuzzy bumblebee

After the bee left, a small yellow spider decided to pay me a visit. It started on my shoulder and then crawled into my hair. I have to admit, it was a little disconcerting seeing a spider dangling from my hair. Of course, I couldn’t help but laugh as I thought of how my sisters would react to a spider in their hair.

Feeling Some Peace

As I sat there, I was finally able to calm the thoughts zooming around my brain. It was so nice to enjoy a few moments of peace and quiet.

This entry was posted in day-to-day life, special moments and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

