Recipe: Pork Schnitzel with Braised Red Cabbage

Don’t say I didn’t warn you! Now that I have internet access at home, I’ll be posting recipes again. Yay!  And just a reminder, I don’t use many measurements in my cooking. But don’t be afraid to ask me, and I’ll at least try to give you a good approximate measure.

Let me start off by explaining how I do my grocery shopping. Being on a limited budget, I make a very strict list and stick to it. The only item I’m vague on, is “MEAT”. Because I don’t always know what’s on sale. Quite often I find that my local grocery store doesn’t have all their sales listed in the flyer. So, I put “MEAT” on my list, and get something that’s a good price.

My last grocery trip, I was able to get a large pork tenderloin for $9.55 Canadian. I brought it home and cut it into 4 chops, and 4 roasts. Tonight’s dinner made use of one of the chops.

20170309_184935

Pork Schnitzel with Braised Red Cabbage, and Mashed Potatoes

Recipe: Pork Schnitzel

Ingredients

  • 1 thick pork chop, butterflied
  • flour
  • egg
  • breadcrumbs
  • salt and pepper
  • paprika
  • butter
  • oil

Directions

  1. Butterfly open your thick pork chop. By that, I mean slice through it, but not all the way through. You want to be able to open it up. Basically, you’re making a pork chop book. Open the chop, and using a meat mallet or rolling pin, flatten the chop until it’s about twice as big as original. I find putting a piece of plastic wrap over the chop helps.You make less mess, and the meat mallet or rolling pin doesn’t slide around.
  2. Set up your breading station: 1 plate with flour (I seasoned mine with salt, pepper, and a bit of paprika), 1 bowl with a beaten egg and a bit of water, and another plate with breadcrumbs.
  3. Season your flattened chop with pepper, and then bread it in the following order: flour, egg, breadcrumbs. Put it on a plate, cover with plastic wrap and let it rest for about 30 minutes. I have learned that letting breaded items sit for a bit really helps keep the coating from falling off when you cook it.
  4. To cook, heat a pan over medium heat. Add a good knob of butter, and some oil and heat. Put your schnitzel in the pan and cook for about 4 minutes per side, making sure the breading is crispy and golden, and the pork is cooked through.

Recipe: Braised Red Cabbage

Ingredients:

  • red cabbage, shredded
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • bacon grease, for cooking
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • water
  • caraway seeds or cumin seeds
  • red wine vinegar
  • red wine (optional)
  • lemon juice
  • honey
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. In a large skillet over medium heat, heat up the bacon grease (or, you could chop up and cook some bacon slices. Bacon bits would be delicious in this). Cook your onion until they soften slightly and just start to turn golden.
  2. Add the cabbage, garlic, water, cumin or caraway seeds (I have used both. Tonight was caraway). Cover the pan and cook for about 10 minutes.
  3. At this point, add the red wine vinegar, red wine (if you’re using it), salt and pepper and lemon juice. Cover again and cook for a further 10-15 minutes.
  4. If at this point you find that you still have a bit too much liquid, remove the lid and allow some of the liquid to evaporate off. Just before serving, stir in about a tablespoon of honey. Adjust any seasonings as required.
This entry was posted in day-to-day life, Main course, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recipe: Pork Schnitzel with Braised Red Cabbage

  1. Miriam says:

    Yum, that cabbage sounds so good. Actually it all does. I laughed when you mentioned the way you shop. I’m the same. ‘Meat’ is always written vaguely on the list, whatever is on special is good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

