Tearing down Walls

It’s funny how a few small words can change the way I’ve been thinking. For the past 3 months, I have been dealing with a particularly crippling bout of anxiety and panic. To the point that I am barely able to leave my apartment. I find myself getting bogged down in negative thoughts, and feeling like I am a burden and a failure.

I Can’t….or Can I?

Tonight though, in a Twitter exchange with Danielle, of The Thought Card, she made a really interesting comment. As I find myself getting lost in thoughts of “I Can’t”, I am creating a wall around myself. A wall that I’ve realized is keeping me from my true self. I told her that I was slowly chipping away at that wall, leaving behind dust and shattered bricks. Her response brought me to tears – “But with those shattered bricks, you have the material to build anything you want.”

Brick Wall

Tearing down my mental wall, brick by brick

Creating Something Beautiful

And I know that Danielle is right. I have to use this experience to build myself up, to make myself stronger. Because I know that I can come through this, to see the light on the other side.

This entry was posted in day-to-day life, special moments and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tearing down Walls

  1. losedabooze says:

    You indeed CAN!! Anxiety really sucks – helping Megan through a really rough period right now too… thank heaven’s for the internet and being able to reach out and get support!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Miriam says:

    I hope you feel better soon. I know how crippling anxiety and panic can be but Danielle is right, you CAN rebuild, into anything you want. We’re all a work in progress aren’t we? . Take care and I wish you strength and peace of mind. xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

