In Honour of my Mom

23704_10150119701270122_2789545_n

My Mom, Linda

Yesterday marked seven years since my Mom died. I still remember it as if it were yesterday. It was all so sudden, and my sisters and I had to make the decision to take Mom off life support. Horrible, horrible, horrible.

Remembering Mom

My mom loved to cook, and she was very good at it. She could open the fridge, look at the leftovers and throw something together that was amazing. But I think one of her favourite meals was Roast Lamb, Asparagus, and Red-Skinned potatoes. So to honour Mom, that’s what I made for dinner last night.

17388925_10158653606165122_918891933837166916_o

Rosemary Garlic Roasted Leg of Lamb, Asparagus, and Roasted Mini Potatoes

And now it’s confession time: There’s no recipes involved here. The lamb was a boneless leg from the New Zealand Spring Lamb product line from The Lamb Company. It was pre-seasoned with rosemary, garlic, salt, and pepper. All I had to do was cut open the package and put in a 375F oven. Easy-peasy!

And another confession: my Hollandaise sauce comes from a package. Now, I know how to make it from scratch, and I CAN make it from scratch. But growing up, Mom always used a package. Specifically the McCormick-International Hollandaise Sauce. And since that’s the flavour I got used to, homemade Hollandaise doesn’t taste right to me.

As I enjoyed my dinner last night, I knew my Mom was with me in spirit. And I think she enjoyed dinner as much as I did.

This entry was posted in In Memory Of and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In Honour of my Mom

  1. mrsgmh says:

    Our mum’s are special. It’s Mothers Day in the UK on Sunday. I miss my mum too. She died in 2010. I think you honored your mum in a lovely way.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Miriam says:

    What a beautiful way to honor and remember your mom. For the record everything you described for dinner is what I love too (and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with pre marinated lamb). Your mon obviously had great tastes! Cherish your memories of her. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

