Recipe: Blueberry Cake Bars

Lately I have really been craving something sweet after dinner. So today I decided to make something for dessert, instead of scrambling around later in the evening.

The recipe I used is actually called Apple Cake Bars, and it comes from Esther Brody’s 500 Cookies, Bars, &Squares. I love this book. In fact, most of my Christmas baking comes from these recipes.

Anyway, I swapped out the apples for blueberries (because that’s what I had), but I think any fruit would work with this recipe. Peaches or pears would be amazing with this cake base. I really loved this cake. It has a nice crumb, and the top is nicely crunchy with the brown sugar and cinnamon. I’m already thinking of trying to cook it like French Toast for my breakfast tomorrow. Don’t judge. I like awesome breakfast food.

20170325_203900

Blueberry Cake Bars

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup or so of blueberries (or another fruit of your choice)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350F and grease an 8-inch square cake pan.

2. In a small bowl, mix together brown sugar and cinnamon. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl, mix together flour, sugar, and baking powder. Using two knives, a pastry blender, or your fingers, cut butter in until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Add egg, milk, and vanilla and mix well.

4. Spread half the batter evenly into prepared pan. Sprinkle evenly with half the cinnamon and brown sugar mixture. Pour the rest of the batter on top.

5. Arrange your fruit over top of cake, pressing lightly into the batter. Sprinkle with remaining cinnamon and brown sugar mix. Bake in preheated oven for 50-60 minutes or until a tester inserted in the center comes out clean (NOTE: my oven runs a bit hot, and I used a glass pan, so I baked mine at 325F for 40 minutes). Place pan on a wire rack to cool completely, then cut into bars. Or, cut a generous piece, put it in a bowl, and top with French Vanilla Ice Cream. Just saying….

 

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recipe: Blueberry Cake Bars

  1. Miriam says:

    Yum yum yum. 🙂 Wonder how this’d go with peaches. I don’t have blueberries but I have a heap of peaches. Sounds so good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

