Memories of Caramel Macchiatos

Yesterday Pot Lucky, a blog I follow, posted Handcrafted Espresso. And I realized that I haven’t had a Starbucks Caramel Macchiato in AGES! It brought back memories of my first boyfriend. Every Wednesday, he’d pick me up after class and we’d go to the Chapters/Starbucks near my house. I’d order the Caramel Macchiato and he’d have the Mocha Valencia. We became regulars there. As soon as the barista saw us, she’d start our order for us.

20170327_103403

Even though my caramel sank, this is one tasty coffee!

No Starbucks in Arnprior

Not only is there no Starbucks here, I am on a fairly strict budget. So even though there is a coffee shop (and I’ve been told that Bonnie Jane’s Coffee House is very good), I don’t really want to spend the money on something that I can make at home. Of course, in order to make my coffee properly, I’d need a caramel sauce. So I turned to my good friend, Google.

Caramel Sauce from Scratch

I stumbled up this recipe from Bright-Eyed Baker: DIY Caramel Sauce. Perfect! I had all the ingredients. This morning I proceeded with my delicious coffee making endeavour. And it was a S-L-O-O-O-O-W process. But I really didn’t want to burn my caramel. I used 1 cup of granulated sugar and a couple tablespoons of brown sugar. I also used skim milk. And do make sure that the milk is quite warm before you add it to the melted sugar. Mine seized up so much that I thought there was no saving it. But I plowed on, put the pot back on the heat, and stirred furiously. It did eventually remelt and smooth out. And if you want a thicker sauce, make sure you cook it long enough. I don’t think I did…and mine is still pretty liquidy in the fridge. But, boy-oh-boy, does it ever taste good!

20170327_095929

Caramel-y goodness!

This entry was posted in Cooking Experiments, day-to-day life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Memories of Caramel Macchiatos

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    There’s nothing like a good caramel sauce … over ice cream or, I guess in a coffee. Do you have a recipe for the caramel macchiato cause I’ve never had one. I think I’ve been in a Starbucks once. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I brewed my coffee (I recommend brewing it extra strong) because the caramel and milk will dilute it somewhat. Then you want to heat up your skimmed milk. I usually take it to almost boiling, and then I use a whisk to whip it until it’s frothy. You’re not making whipped cream. Just frothed milk.

      Then I put a dollop of frothed milk in my mug, pour in the coffee, put another dollop of frothed milk on top and drizzle some caramel on top.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. potluckycom says:

    I see you stumbled on a recipe for caramel sauce. Now I know why Starbucks and the caramel macchiato brings back memories. I’m glad the coffee tasted good. Thanks for mentioning Potluckycom. I’m going to have to try the recipe for some caramel-y goodness.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

