A Writing Experiment

When I started my blog in May 2015, it was a way to keep connected with family and friends back home. It was simply a means to document my six months living in Barbados and have all of the experiences and stories in one place. When I returned to Canada, I kept writing, but I think my blog morphed into something else. It became a place for me to work out what I was thinking and feeling. And while my recipe posts still are my most popular, I want my blog to be more than just an online cookbook.

A Love for the Written Word

Since  getting back online at the beginning of March, I have rediscovered my love of blogging and sharing the written word with you. So I hope you’ll indulge me, as my blog morphs yet again. I want to become a BETTER writer; a FUNNIER writer. I want to write things that are thought-provoking. Not only to me, but to the people who read my blog. To that end, I downloaded a copy of The Authors Publish Compendium of Writing Prompts. I plan to use these prompts on a daily basis and see where my writing goes. Don’t worry, I won’t share ALL of them with you. All of these exercises will get written down in a notebook. But some of what I write will end up in this blog.

Writing

Shhh….writer at work!

Today’s Writing Prompt

Since today is the first day of trying this, I want to share what I wrote. Simply because I think  the whole process is rather momentous. And it should be celebrated in some way. Today’s prompt was a warm-up of sorts: write down a title and then write furiously for three minutes. And I have to tell you, three minutes is not very long. Especially when you realize that you’re kind of lost in the story you’ve already started telling.

The Witch’s Brood

It was a dark and stormy night when she called them all together. They were worried, as she didn’t usually call such a gathering on short notice.

“The moon has been giving me trouble”, she said. “And I decided to ask all of you for help.” They looked at each other in surprise. This was not what they expected. “Please,” she begged, “give me your best suggestions.”

“Turn it into a frog!” one shouted. “No! A unicorn!” yelled another. “But that’s the problem,” she replied, “I can’t turn it into anything.”

This entry was posted in Writing Experiments and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Writing Experiment

  1. Miriam says:

    What a great idea Kathleen. This will no doubt get those creative juices really flowing. Enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

