Recipe: Lamb Keema

I know I’ve mentioned this cookbook before, and I’m going to mention it again, since it is one of my favourites. Judith Finlayson‘s The 150 Best Slow Cooker Recipes is such a GREAT collection of recipes. I have the first edition, published in 2001, but I’m sure the second edition is just as awesome. I love that this book has recipes that pull on flavours from different parts of the world: South Africa, India, France, Italy, Hungary, etc. It’s not your usual collection of soups and stews that everyone normally thinks of when they hear slow cooker. Honestly, if you use a slow cooker at all, you really should check out this cookbook! You won’t be sorry, I promise.

20170329_184956

My Lamb Keema variation: made with ground beef

Lamb Keema Recipe

Ingredients:

  •  1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 lbs ground lamb (or beef if you prefer)
  • 2 onions, finely chopped
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp ginger, finely chopped
  • 1-2 serrano chilies, finely chopped (I didn’t have any fresh chilies, so I used about 1/2 tsp of ground cayenne pepper)
  • 1 piece cinnamon stick, about 2 inches (I used about 1.5 tsp of ground cinnamon)
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cracked black peppercorns
  • Pinch of ground cloves (I used a pinch of nutmeg. What? I don’t have cloves)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 can (28oz/796ml) diced tomatoes, drained (I didn’t drain mine)
  • 1 tbsp lemon juic
  • 1 cup frozen peas, thawed
  • 1/2 cup yogurt (optional)
  • Hot cooked rice, to serve

Directions:

  1. In a skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add meat and cook, breaking up with a spoon, until no longer pink, about 5 minutes. Transfer meat to slow cooker, and drain liquid out of pan.
  2. Reduce heat to medium. Add onions and cook, stirring, until softened. Add garlic, ginger, chili pepper, cinnamon, coriander, cumin, turmeric, salt, pepper, and cloves. Cook, stirring, for about 1 minute. Add bay leaf, tomatoes, and lemon juice and bring to a boil.
  3. Pour mixture over meat. Cover and cook on LOW for 6-10 hours, or on HIGH for 3-4 hours, until hot and bubbling. Add peas, cover and cook on HIGH for 15-20 minutes. Discard bay leaf. Just before serving, stir in yogurt, if using.

 

This entry was posted in Main course, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

