Marching out like a lion? Of course that means playing with recipes!

I am sitting here,with a cup of coffee, and watching the snow fly. The calendar tells me it is Spring, but Mother Nature has different idea. And so, it seems like a great day to think about food. O.K…what day isn’t a great day to think about food?

Pork Vindaloo

This morning I started the meat for tomorrow night’s dinner: Pork Vindaloo. I cooked up some onions, garlic, ginger, and a whole bunch of spices (cumin, coriander, cinnamon, cayenne, mustard seeds, salt) until the whole mixture was nice and fragrant. I added it to my cubed pork, poured some red wine vinegar on top, and have the whole thing marinating in my fridge. Tomorrow I’ll put it in my slow cooker and let it cook for several hours.

17505260_10158711563030122_3586756396340671698_o

Pork marinating in vinegar and spices

Playing with Pasta

For dinner tonight, I am going to run a bit wild. I haven’t made homemade pasta in AGES, and today seems like a perfect day for it. My plan is to try and make my dish pretty and spring-like. I’m going to puree some peas and add some pesto to my pasta dough. I’m hoping to get a pretty green colour. Although it might end up resembling boogers. I’ll make a carbonara type sauce, and top it with peas and tomatoes sauteed in bacon fat. It sounds delicious, and in my head it’s beautiful.

And don’t worry, I’ll post recipes once I’ve got them figured out.

This entry was posted in Cooking Experiments, Main course and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Marching out like a lion? Of course that means playing with recipes!

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    Try making a spinach pasta. Thaw and puree it well and add it to your flour/egg mixture. 🙂

    http://a-boleyn.livejournal.com/197515.html … making the pasta
    http://a-boleyn.livejournal.com/197884.html … spinach fettuccine dish with prosciutto and peas

    Like

Leave a Reply

