My Plants make me Smile

After my post on Friday, I’ve been trying really hard to find, and do, things that make me smile. It’s not always easy (ok, it’s REALLY hard), but I’m trying.

Today is grey and rainy, but I did find something to smile about. And I want to share it with you. After Grandma died, her sister inherited Grandma’s Christmas cactus. Well, one of them at least. I’m not sure where the big one ended up. But Audrey got the small one. Back in the fall, I took a couple of cuttings from it, got them to root and I plunked them into a pot. Of course, I’ve been obsessively watching it ever since, hoping to see signs of well, life. This morning I noticed that two new leaves are appearing! I practically danced for joy!

New growth on my Christmas cactus

Look! Tiny new leaves have appeared!

I am really excited about these little leaves. Because they basically appeared overnight! I know they weren’t there yesterday.

My avocado plants are also doing well. I have two of them. The first one got really tall and scraggly, so I cut it back down to only a few inches. I’m hoping that will force growth from the bottom, so I get a bushier plant, rather than a tall tree. Well, it has growth too!

A new branch growing from the main stalk of an avocado plant

A new branch is starting to emerge!

I apologize for the blurriness of the photo. Weird light, not a photographer, all that jazz. But yay! New growth!

Lastly, here’s my second avocado plant. This one I pruned before it ever got leaves on the main stalk. So of course I worried that I’d killed it. But no! It lives!

New branch growth on an avocado plant

Is that a branch or are you just happy to see me?

And my spider plants in the background are just ticking along, happy as can be. My aloe is also doing well. My Purple Shamrock..well, it’s not dead. But it’s not really doing anything either. I keep hoping it will spread in the pot, but so far I just have the one piece, and it opens every morning and closes every night. Unfortunately my seeds didn’t survive. I’m really not good at starting things from seed. I may or may not try again.

 

This entry was posted in day-to-day life, Indoor Gardening, Show and Tell and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Plants make me Smile

  1. Miriam says:

    Yay for new growth and hope. Love it. Keep smiling. 🌿

    Like

Leave a Reply

