Recipe: Cocoa Brownies with Brown Butter Icing

Today I wanted brownies. Specifically, I wanted my cocoa brownies with brown butter icing. Except I didn’t have icing sugar. And I didn’t want to go out to buy any (I’m having a high anxiety day and I already have to go out tomorrow to meet a caseworker about my Ontario Works application). So, I decided to make my own. It’s really quite simple.

Icing sugar is simply granulated sugar processed into a fine powder. Store-bought icing sugar typically contains cornstarch to keep it from clumping. When you make your own, you can leave the cornstarch out if you’re going to use the sugar right away. Anyway, I put 1 cup of white granulated sugar into the food processor attachment of my immersion blender and whizzed until powdery.

I will confess, I didn’t grind the sugar up fine enough so my icing was a bit grainy. But I fixed it up by adding a bit of whipping cream and using my immersion blender. And now for the recipe.

Recipe: Cocoa Brownies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped (optional)

Icing Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsps butter (NOT margarine)
  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • 1.5 tbsps milk (I used whipping cream)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350F (Note: I set my oven to 325F as I find it bakes a bit hot. Plus I was using a glass pan). Line 9 inch square baking pan with foil; grease foil.
2. In a small bowl with wire whisk, mix flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt.
3. In 3-quart saucepan, melt butter over low heat. Remove from heat and stir in sugar. Stir in eggs, one at a time, until well blended; add vanilla. Stir flour mixture into sugar mixture until blended. Stir in nuts, if using. Spread batter evenly in prepared pan.
4. Bake until toothpick inserted 2 inches from center comes out almost clean, about 25 minutes. Since I was using a glass pan, my brownies were done in 18 minutes. Cool completely in pan on wire rack.
5. Once the brownies are cool, prepare your icing. In a small saucepan, cook the butter over medium heat until lightly browned (about 5 or 6 minutes). The butter will start to smell slightly nutty. Remove from heat and stir in icing sugar, milk, and vanilla. Stir until smooth.
5. Spread the icing evenly over the  brownie and then lift foil, with brownie, out of pan; peel foil away from sides. Cut into 4 strips, then cut each strip crosswise into 4 pieces.
Cocoa Brownie with Brown Butter Icing

Brownie Heaven: Cocoa Brownie with Brown Butter Icing

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Recipe: Cocoa Brownies with Brown Butter Icing

  1. mrsgmh says:

    Yum! I make brownies with cocoa too. Best wishes for your application. Hope all goes well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Miriam says:

    Sounds pretty wicked! Good luck tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

