On the Road to Recovery

Taking those First Steps

This morning I met with a caseworker for Ontario Works. Part of me felt like such a failure for having to ask for this help. And I was bracing myself for a humiliating, demeaning experience (my previous experience with this program was NOT a good one). However, today was so different, and I walked out of there feeling like I was actually getting a good start on the help I need.

I was approved for the maximum level of financial support, and while it’s not tons, it does cover my rent every month. I was also given an application for a Renfrew County Housing program, that if I qualify, will see me get a $275/month subsidy for my rent. And, I was also granted access to Arnprior’s Seniors at Home Transport service. Because I don’t drive, and my doctor is out of town, I can use their service to get to my medical appointments. Which means I no longer have to always make sure I have the $40 for the commuter bus.

Being Given some Time

My caseworker was also very understanding of the mental health issues I am currently experiencing. And she graciously granted me a 6 month deferment (as part of the program, I am required to participate in job search activities) so I can focus on me and my mental health, without worrying about the deadlines of finding a job.

As much as I didn’t want to get to this point, I am so grateful for the help. And the compassion I was shown today.

Mahogany Trees in Barbados

I know that at the end of this road lies my true self

This entry was posted in day-to-day life, illnesses, Mental Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On the Road to Recovery

  1. msw blog says:

    Smiles to your case worker for being a human being and not just a clog in the system. I hope your journey will be filled itch compassion and understanding.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bbqman001 says:

    I completely understand how you feel.
    I was in a car accident back in 1995 and as a result was off work for two years. In order to keep a roof over our heads I had to apply for Welfare (the old term for Ontario Works) and it was the hardest thing I have ever had to do in my life as I felt like such a failure for having to go that route.
    From reading your post it seems that you, like me, have come to the realization that having to apply is not your fault and you are keeping your head up and are moving forward.
    Keep on rockin….. you will come out the other side a much better person and kudos to your case worker for being a human being and not just a bureaucrat.

    Cheers.

    Like

  3. mrsgmh says:

    I’m so pleased it all went well for you, Kathleen. That’s great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

