Not My Recipe: Mushroom Egg Drop Soup

For those of you wondering, I had a much better day today. I accomplished a couple things and even managed to leave the apartment. I needed (ok…wanted) egg rolls to go with my soup.

I made my chicken broth from scratch: I tossed the bones from a couple of chicken breasts into a pot, along with an onion, 3 cloves of garlic, a carrot, 2 stalks of celery, a few sprigs of thyme. I covered it all with 6 or so cups of water, and let it all simmer for a couple of hours. To make the soup, I strained the broth into another pot and then followed the recipe.

I will admit, I’ve tried making Egg Drop soup before and I always felt it was missing something. So I decided to ask my good friend Google. And I came across this beauty: Garrett McCord’s Easy Egg Drop Soup. I simply combined my chicken broth, some mushrooms, chopped green onions, a bit of ginger and soya sauce in a pot, thickened it all with a bit of cornstarch and then slowly drizzled in my beaten eggs. It was delicious! And super fast. Not counting the time it took to make the broth, I had my soup ready in 15 minutes. Any of you wanting quick and easy Chinese food (of the kind that reminds you of eating in a North American Chinese food restaurant), then I highly recommend that you try out Garrett McCord’s Easy Egg Drop Soup.

20170420_182725

Mushroom Egg Drop Soup

This entry was posted in day-to-day life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Not My Recipe: Mushroom Egg Drop Soup

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    I always enjoy an egg drop soup. Sometimes I go with the hot and sour version. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was thinking that would be tasty too! What do you suggest adding?

      Liked by 1 person

      • A_Boleyn says:

        Mushrooms (shitake, oyster, cremini, enoki), bean sprouts, tofu, rice vinegar, sugar, sambal oelek for heat, cornstarch for thickening, of course.

        I have a recipe if you’re interested.

        Like

        • A_Boleyn says:

          I was going to make a pot today but used up all my mushrooms for the beef stroganoff I made yesterday. My brain was just not processing well. 🙂

          Chinese-Style Mushroom and Tofu Hot and Sour Soup – makes about 5 cups

          4 cups vegetable stock (or chicken stock if you don’t care about vegetarian option)
          2 cups (1/2 pound) bean sprouts, rinsed and drained
          1 tbsp dry onion soup mix (or 1/4 cup diced and sauteed fresh mushrooms)
          1 tsp fresh ginger, finely diced or minced
          1/4 cup regular soy sauce
          1/4 cup rice vinegar
          1 tbsp dark soy sauce
          1 tbsp Chinkiang black rice vinegar
          1 1/2 – 2 tsp sambal oelek (ground fresh chili paste)
          200 gm firm tofu
          6 white (1 1/2 cups) button mushrooms (or a combination of mushrooms ie. white, brown, cremini, enoki, King oyster), thinly sliced
          1 egg, lightly beaten with a tsp of cold water
          1/4 cup cornstarch dissolved in about 6 tbsp cold water
          salt and pepper as needed

          Garnish
          1 green onion (or chives), thinly sliced

          Drain off and discard the liquid the tofu comes in. Wrap the tofu with several thicknesses of paper towels and press with a couple of heavy cans, to get as much water out of the tofu as possible. Slice the tofu into 3/4″ inch cubes.

          In a large soup pot, combine stock, bean sprouts, dry onion soup mix, diced ginger, regular soy sauce, rice vinegar, dark soy sauce, black rice vinegar, 1 1/2 tsp sambal oelek, sliced mushrooms and cubed tofu. Bring the mixture to a boil, cover and reduce the heat to medium and simmer for about 5 minutes.

          Remove the lid, bring the mixture back to the boil and from a height of about a foot, drizzle in the beaten egg in a stream. Stir gently to mix the egg through the soup. Stir in the cornstarch mixture and boil for one minute.

          Taste for seasoning. If needed, add salt and pepper to the soup. You may wish to add additional sambal oelek to the soup (the additional 1/2 tsp listed in the ingredients to start with), as well as more rice vinegar.

          Serve garnished with green onions or chives

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Miriam says:

    So glad you’re feeling a bit better . This looks really delicious, sounds like a nice combination of flavours.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mrsgmh says:

    The food looks good and I’m glad you felt a lot better and managed to leave the apartment 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

