My Beach in a Bowl

Yesterday I mentioned that I had bought myself a present: A Beach in a Bowl. The store I got it at, Giant Tiger, had 3 others (Park in a Bowl, Mini Fairy Garden, and Mini Wildflower Garden). The company, Dune Craft, has a lot of interesting looking things.

So today, after my intake appointment with the Renfrew County Mental Health Services Unit, I came home and decided to plant my Beach. It didn’t take long, but it was fun to play in the dirt and then arrange my shells in the sand the way I wanted them.

20170425_151150

Everything I need for my own little beach: planting medium, glass terrarium, seeds, shells, sand

I got the planting medium soaking in some water, and once it had expanded, I got my hands dirty, crumbling and patting it into the bottom of the terrarium.

20170425_152215

Playing in the dirt

I planted three of each seed so if it works, I’ll have 3 little Cabbage Palms and 3 little Sabal Palms. Apparently the Cabbage Palms produce flowers…although not for 6-10 years. So I doubt I’ll see any. But I am hopeful that I will have little palm trees.

I then poured in the sand and arranged my shells. The largest one, that I put right in the middle, is one I brought back from Barbados. My little beach makes me smile.

20170425_153441

My Beach in a Bowl

This entry was posted in day-to-day life, Indoor Gardening, Show and Tell and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Beach in a Bowl

  1. Pingback: Continuing to Play with Plants | 161 Days in Paradise

  2. Pingback: Just a general update: Plants and a Lunch Date | 161 Days in Paradise

  3. Pingback: Is it possible to be addicted to plants and gardening? | 161 Days in Paradise

  4. Cristina says:

    I will soooo try this 🙂 Love it !

    Like

Leave a Reply

