Simple Things are Really Important

For the past few days, I have been really trying to focus on simple things that bring me pleasure. Things like seeing more new leaves on my Christmas Cactus, or having chicken nachos for dinner. I’ve given myself permission to feel whatever I’m feeling in a particular moment. Because if I let myself feel the negative stuff, I find it passes quicker than if I keep trying to fight it.

 

Today was a beautiful, hot day here. And it got me thinking about dinners in the summer when I was a kid. I loved when my Mom made her macaroni salad. Of course, that started a craving for macaroni salad like Mom used to make. It’s really simple, but it was always so tasty. Cooked macaroni, mayonnaise, finely diced celery, small cubes of medium cheddar, finely diced onion (mom used mostly white onions, but I used green tonight because I wanted to use them before they go bad), sometimes sliced radishes (I didn’t have any), sometimes finely diced bell pepper (I used some yellow pepper). Combine everything in a bowl, season with salt and pepper. Chow down.

And to finish off my simple dinner, I had picked up some ice cream and sugar cones. I sat on my balcony and had an ice cream cone for dessert. Bliss!

 

This entry was posted in day-to-day life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Simple Things are Really Important

  1. simple “delicious” things are really important 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mrsgmh says:

    Yum – that salad might be simple but it sounds delicious to me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

