Grateful to be Alive

Lately I’ve been trying to be more mindful and grateful for the things in my life. It’s a process and sometimes it’s a slow slog. I’ve recently downloaded an app to my tablet called the Gratitude Garden. Every day that I fill in 3 things I’m grateful for I earn a card and points to redeem towards garden items. Yesterday’s card really made me think. It challenged me to be grateful for something I usually take for granted.

And I realized that I’ve been taking being alive for granted. Every night I go to bed, I just assume that I’m going to wake up in the morning. And while I obviously want that to be the case, I’m not guaranteed of that. Who knows what might happen to me while I’m sleeping?

So today, I am grateful to be alive. I am grateful for the sunshine streaming in my windows, warming my skin and making me smile. I am grateful that my heart has decided to keep beating, that my blood keeps flowing, that my lungs keep breathing. I am grateful that my physical body is still functioning perfectly, even when my mental state and emotions try to take over.

So, on this Saturday, I challenge YOU to be grateful for something you take for granted.

IMG_6232

Feeling Grateful for Living

This entry was posted in day-to-day life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Grateful to be Alive

  1. Miriam says:

    It doesn’t get much more important than that. Gratitude for life. It’s something we all need to remember, every day. Lovely post.

    Like

  2. What a great post! This has inspired me to do something like this (I’ll def tag you) I feel that I am one of those people that really takes life for granted, I just assume I’ll wake up in the morning – however I need to understand that life is very fragile & it can be taken from you at any point.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mrsgmh says:

    I had to think a lot about that one. I take tap water for granted which many parts of the world don’t have, so today I’m grateful to have free running tap water!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

