Recipe: Butternut Squash Ravioli with a Walnut Brown Butter Cream Sauce

20170430_180730

Butternut Squash Ravioli with a Walnut Brown Butter Cream Sauce

First, this was freaking delicious! Second, it was freaking time consuming to make. But, OMG, so delicious.

Part 1: Butternut Squash Filling

Ingredients:

  • 1 small butternut squash
  • 1 pat of butter
  • 1 small onion, finely diced
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • fresh thyme, chopped

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Cut your squash in half, remove seeds and place cut side down in a baking dish. Cook for 45-60 minutes, until squash is nice and tender. Allow to cool.
  2. While your squash cools, melt the butter in a pan over low-medium heat. Add your onions and cook until softened and slightly golden. Add the garlic and cook for a minute or so. Add the thyme, and a bit of salt and pepper. Set aside to cool a bit.
  3. When your squash is cool enough to handle, scoop the flesh out and put in a bowl. Add the onion mixture and and stir to combine. Set aside. Taste and adjust seasonings if necessary.
20170430_165356

Butternut Squash Filling

Part 2: Assembling the Raviolis

I used some of the Pea and Pesto Pasta Dough that I made a while back. This would have been SOOOOO much easier if I had a pasta maker. But I don’t. So I rolled my dough out with a rolling pin. Roll it nice and thin and cut out an even number of circles. Place a small amount of filling on half of the circles.

20170430_171105

Ravioli Assembly Line

Place rest of the circles on top of the ones with filling. Seal with a fork. Put on a tray and allow to dry a little bit. This will help prevent the pasta from sticking together in the water.

20170430_171743

Finally! Raviolis are assembled

Part 3: Walnut Brown Butter Cream Sauce

Note: I know that pictures would help explain what I’m taking about while making this sauce. But it came together so quickly that if I had stopped to take a picture, I would have burned my butter. And I didn’t want that.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • couple of tablespoons chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup half and half cream (10% M.F)
  • 1 tsp or so lemon juice
  • fresh thyme, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. In a skillet over medium heat, cook the butter until slightly golden and a bit nutty smelling
  2. Add in the chopped walnuts and cook until the butter is a bit darker. Remove from heat and whisk, to cool the mixture down a bit
  3. Whisk in the half and half. Depending on how thick you want your sauce, feel free to use more or less cream. Stir in your chopped thyme
  4. At this point, you want to taste the sauce. Season with salt and pepper and add the lemon juice a few drops at a time. You’re really just trying brighten up the sauce a bit, and cut through the richness.
20170430_175230

Walnut Brown Butter Cream Sauce

Part 4: Final Assembly and Plating

Have a large pot of salted water and bring to a rolling boil. Put your raviolis in and cook until they float to the surface. The length of time this takes will depend on how thick or thin your pasta is.

20170430_175706

Cooking your Ravioli

When they are cooked, drain them well. You don’t want too much water left on them. Otherwise they’ll be slimy and soggy.  Arrange them nicely on your plate, drizzle the sauce on top and sprinkle with a bit of freshly chopped thyme. You could also sprinkle a few more walnuts on top or some freshly grated Parmesan cheese (I didn’t have any cheese). Enjoy the fruits of your labours!

20170430_180501

Mmmmm……my time consuming, but oh so delicious dinner

Wine Pairing

One final note, I want to share what wine I had with this. I figured since I was going to the trouble of making homemade pasta, I would get a wine specifically to have with it. I paired my ravioli with a Semillon/Sauvignon Blanc from Australia: Summer Shack Semillon/Sauvignon Blanc. On its own, I found the wine to be rich and smooth, but with enough acidity to cut through the rich sauce on my ravioli. I would get it again.

This entry was posted in Main course, recipes, Show and Tell and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Recipe: Butternut Squash Ravioli with a Walnut Brown Butter Cream Sauce

  1. momshieb says:

    Well, yum! Call me inspired….!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mrsgmh says:

    Looks wonderful, Kathleen! I can just imagine the taste 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. flavours2017 says:

    Loved ur detailed recipe step by step —-

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

