Picture Post: A Day in my Life

Last night, after dinner, I watched a storm darken the sky. The clouds rolled in and I could see the rain threatening.

20170518_192745

Storm clouds in the Arnprior sky (May 18, 2017)

As soon as I snapped that picture, I thought that I should probably close my windows. Which was hard to do, because my apartment was so hot and the breeze blowing in was so cool. But I could see the rain approaching. And I figured when it hit, it would hit hard. And I was right.

20170518_194622_HDR

Rain hitting my balcony door

This morning I took the commuter bus into Ottawa so I could visit my 96-year old great-aunt, Audrey. She is Grandma’s older sister. And since Grandma’s death, I think Audrey and I have gotten even closer. I love that we can sit and talk about current events, politics, sports. While Audrey’s memory is sometimes a bit fuzzy, she’s really amazingly sharp. And conversations with her are a lot of fun. I spent the day with her, until it was time to head downtown to catch the commuter bus back home.

The pick-up point for the bus is right across from the National War Memorial on Wellington Street. Even though it was very windy, the sun was shining and thought it would be a great chance to snap a few pictures. I don’t often take pictures of my city, but today was such a pretty day, and I was so happy to be downtown, that I couldn’t resist.

20170519_153702

National War Memorial (left) and the Chateau Laurier Hotel (right), Ottawa

The National Arts Centre is currently getting a major facelift, inside and out. This CBC article details the changes to the current building. I love going to see performances at the NAC, and even though I haven’t been to one in ages, it was thrilling to see the outside of the new building take shape.

20170519_153854

The new National Arts Centre rises in Ottawa

Of course, the other big event going on right now is the Canadian Tulip Festival. Millions of tulips are in bloom all over the city. And they really are beautiful.

20170519_153928

Enjoying the sun and the tulips

And on this Friday evening of the May long weekend, I am going to settle in and watch the Ottawa Senators take on the Pittsburgh Penguins in game 4 of the Eastern Conference Final. At least, I’m hoping to be able to watch the game. I was messing around with my tv antenna earlier and I broke it. I guess I don’t know my own strength. I managed to snap off a piece.

IMG_20170519_184250

Oops…I managed to break my tv antenna

I hope you’ve all had a great day. I have. And it  has been a while since I can say I had a truly GREAT day. I’m going to enjoy the feeling. And hope it carries over tomorrow when I go to treat myself to some new clothes.

This entry was posted in day-to-day life, Show and Tell and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Picture Post: A Day in my Life

  1. mrsgmh says:

    96! Your great-aunt is doing really well. Good to see some photos of Ottawa. The tulips are very pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Miriam says:

    Sounds like you had a great day despite the storm. Nice to see around your hometown too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

