My Blog is 2 Years Old!

My blog, 161 Days in Paradise, is 2 years old today! When I started this blog, I figured only family and friends would follow it so they could see what I was doing in Barbados. I never really thought that other people would follow my blog. But I’m so glad you all decided to hop on for the ride.

2years

Happy Birthday to my blog!

I love sharing things here. And I’m always so touched and honoured when someone tells me that something I’ve written has really spoken to them. I know lately I’ve really been focused on mental illness, but that’s only because in the course of my own struggles, I’ve found that we still need to talk about these issues more. Depression, anxiety, PTSD, and all other mental illness are still so badly misunderstood.

But I am trying to not be defined by my mental illnesses. I am more than that. I’m a traveler, a music lover, a reader, a knitter, a seamstress, a hopeful grower of plants, a baker, and a cook. And I will admit, as a cook, I love that my recipe posts are my best posts.

Since recipes ARE so popular, that’s how I will end my blog’s second birthday post. I got it into my head that I wanted potato salad today. So here’s the recipe:

Recipe: Potato Salad with Feta, Black Olives, and Peas

Ingredients:

  • handful of medium potatoes, washed but not peeled, and cut into 8 pieces
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 scant tbsp of pesto (I used the stuff in the jar)
  • a few drops of lemon juice
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tbsp feta cheese, crumbled
  • 8-10 black olives, cut in half
  • 1/2 cup or so of frozen green peas, defrosted

Directions:

  1. Bring the potato pieces to a boil in salted water. Reduce to a simmer and cook for about 10 minutes (you want the potatoes cooked through, but not mushy)
  2. Drain, and rinse the potatoes in cold water to stop cooking. Set aside to drain completely
  3. In a small bowl, combine yogurt, pesto, lemon juice. Stir to combine and then taste. Add salt and pepper as needed
  4. In a mixing bowl, combine cooked potatoes, yogurt dressing, feta, olives, and peas. Stir to combine, cover, and put in the fridge to allow flavours to blend.
20170521_173542

Potato Salad with Feta, Black Olives, and Peas

This entry was posted in day-to-day life, recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My Blog is 2 Years Old!

  1. sana538 says:

    Happy birthday to your blog wish you loads of success ❤️ do check out my two new blog posts about my trip to Barbados would love to know what you think😊

    Like

  2. Congrats! I’m in only 8 mo. I find it hard but fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello lovely, I have nominated you for The Awesome Blogger Award, please see this link: https://discoveringyourhappiness.com/2017/05/23/i-won-the-awesome-blogger-award/ – I think your blog is amazing. Thank you 🙂 Anita ❤

    Like

  4. Ann Coleman says:

    Happy second birthday to your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. hell0chloe says:

    Happy birthday to your blog! Also that salad looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. mrsgmh says:

    Love the sound of that recipe! Sorry I haven’t commented on your blogs just lately. I was on vacation in Greece and I had a heart attack on the day we were due to fly home (May 11th). I only got back last night. Will have to stay on medication for the rest of my life apparently! Will arrange to see an English cardiologist as soon as possible.

    Like

  7. amt07 says:

    Happy Birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Miriam says:

    Happy birthday to your blog Kathleen 🍰 One of the first things that attracted me to your blog were your fabulous recipes. Here’s to the next two years . 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

