Recipe: Chickpea and Couscous Salad

For the second day in a row, it has been crazy hot and with no A/C, my apartment hit 34C (93F) this afternoon. There was absolutely NO WAY that I was turning on the stove. Even the mere thought of hot food made me feel slightly sick.

So this salad was born.

Chickpea and Couscous Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups of couscous (I combined the couscous with some bulgur wheat I had in the cupboard)
  • 1.5 cups boiling water
  • 1 19oz can of chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • black olives, pitted and sliced
  • couple generous handfuls of fresh baby spinach
  • 1/4 cup or so of mustard vinaigrette (recipe below)

Directions:

  1. In a bowl, put your couscous and cover with the boiling water. Cover and let sit for about 10 minutes (until the water is absorbed).
  2. In a second bowl, combine chickpeas, red onion, garlic, black olives, spinach, and vinaigrette. Stir so everything is coated with the dressing. Taste and add salt and pepper if you want.
  3. Add the couscous to the dressed ingredients and stir to combine. Put in fridge for a couple of hours to allow flavours to blend.
20170612_174011-3

Chickpea and Couscous Salad

Mustard Vinaigrette

When I make salad dressing, I never measure my ingredients. I eyeball things and then I adjust as I go.  But I’ll try to give some measurements for you. And this makes a small amount of dressing. I’m just one person. I used this dressing on a couple of green salads before using the rest on the couscous salad tonight.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsps lemon juice
  • 6 tbsps vegetable oil
  • couple good squirts of grainy dijon mustard
  • salt and pepper
  • dash of dried herbs (I used marjoram, basil, rosemary, but thyme would be good too)

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a glass jar with a good sealing lid. Close lid and shake to combine. Taste and adjust as necessary
This entry was posted in day-to-day life, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Recipe: Chickpea and Couscous Salad

  1. Miriam says:

    Yum, sounds good!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

